Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

How do I put together my Sturmey Archer S5 hub?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-18, 09:41 AM
Oliver Starley

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hello, I am new to the bike forums. I have a Triumph sports 3 speed that I plan to convert to a 5 speed using a Sturmey Archer S5 hub. I cannot post pictures yet since this is my first post, however I can tell you that I managed to just screw on a bell crank and a chain indicator, yet, I can't put them on all the way. I also have the metal gear shifters and the original cables along with other attachments. I also plan to remove the 3 speed hub from the original rim and replace with the 5 speed one using the same spokes. There is a guy I used to go to to get these sorts of things done, but it appears that he closed down. So unless I find someone else, I might have to do this alone. The question still stands: how do I put my Sturmey Archer S5 hub together?
Old 06-20-18, 12:04 PM
rhm
multimodal commuter

Bikes: 1940s Fothergill, 1959 Allegro Special, 1963? Claud Butler Olympic Sprint, Lambert 'Clubman', 1974 Fuji "the Ace", 1976 Holdsworth 650b conversion rando bike, 1983 Trek 720 tourer, 1984 Counterpoint Opus II, 1993 Basso Gap, 2010 Downtube 8h, and...

Mentioned: 584 Post(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked 574 Times in 339 Posts
If your original wheel has an AW hub (as is likely) then you're in luck. The AW and S5 hubs use the same shell. All you have to do is take the AW guts out and put the S5 guts in.

Is your S5 hub separate, or is it built into a wheel? If it's not built into a wheel, getting the guts out could be a challenge....
Old 06-20-18, 12:22 PM
Oliver Starley

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post