Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

How do you get to work if it is raining?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-07, 11:16 PM
MyBikeGotStolen

Bikes: Raleigh Glacier MTB/Commuter. Cannondale CAAD5, Windsor Timeline fixed gear

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am new to the biking thing. Actually I dont even have a bike yet! But I do want to get into biking and hopefully commuting. I'm just tired of paying for a car that I only drive to work in the first place (~1,000 miles last year). I/we allways just ride in my girlfriends car if I go anywere else besides work, so I thought what the heck, I might as well sell my car so I dont have to pay for a car.

Also, to save some more money, I old my g/f that once we do get bikes, we can not go out to eat unless we ride the bikes. So if we are to lazy to ride, we will eat at home for cheaper. And if we do go out, we will get some exercise!

But I am just curious, what does everyone do when it is raining and you have no other way of getting to work? I tried searching the forums but found nothing about it.

Thanks everyone.
Old 01-22-07, 11:24 PM
randomgear

Bikes: '89 Specialized Hardrock Fixed Gear Commuter; 1984? Dawes Atlantis

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Fenders, and mudfaps!
Raincoat (goretex or other breathable fabric) and if it's really raining rainpants.
And if it's more than just a very light drizzle headlight and rear blinkie.
Depending on the commute length, a water resistant messenger bag or panniers might come in real handy. Or just wrap your carryons (dry shoes for work) in a plastic bag and strap it to your rack or basket.
Old 01-22-07, 11:48 PM
CrosseyedCrickt
Banned.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts