Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Adjust road bike or switch to performance hybrid?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 07-06-20, 09:29 PM
llevitt

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I know I'm wading into controversial territory, but hoping for some helpful guidance.

I've been riding my Trek 2200 for about 20 years. It's served me well, through many thousands of miles and centuries. These days I generally do regular rides of about 30 miles, sometimes 50+. I'm in the SF Bay Area, so it's all hills. Lately, with age (late 50s), I've been encountering a few challenges:

** I get a lot of neck pain after a while, which is the main limiting factor for how long I can ride. I can't find much info about the Trek's geometry, but it seems pretty aggressive.

** I have increasing trouble dealing with the brakes on the drop handlebars, with sore fingers on long downhills.

** I'm fine on climbs with gradients of 8-10%, but climbs with 12% are definitely getting tougher. I think my lowest gear has a ratio of 1.2.

I've considered trying to adapt my Trek (e.g., raising the handlebars with a new stem, maybe a new cassette). But, it feels like that could add up and not be money well spent.

Would I be better off with a performance hybrid to solve my issues (more upright riding, easier braking, and an easier lower gear)?

Thanks for the advice.
Old 07-06-20, 09:58 PM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
Go to a bike shop and test ride some, why seek an opinion here ? form one for yourself from experience.

I'm using a very nice Bike Friday & folding Brompton... liking the step thru like convenience @ my age ..