Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Starting out

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Starting out

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-19, 10:04 AM
TooTechie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Starting out

I am a road cycling newbie. I just bought a trek road bike and went for my first ride (night ride) yesterday and fell in love.

For my first ride I set a destination of a grocery store in the next town over 4.6 miles away, 9.2 miles total.
The first leg of the trip took 13 min, 13 seconds and the return trip took 13 min, 22 seconds. On flat stretches I was averaging a bit over 17mph, declines over 25 and steeper inclines a bit over 11mph. I'm 44. The bike is 3x8. Is this approximately an appropriate place to start or should I be going on longer rides?

Thanks
Old 07-20-19, 10:11 AM
frankenmike 
mechanically sound

Bikes: Indy Fab steel deluxe, Aventon cordoba, S-works stumpy fsr, Masi vincere, Dahon mu uno, Outcast 29 commuter

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 53 Posts
I would recommend thinking more in terms of hours than miles. 1 hour rides routinely, longer epic rides occasionally(3-4 hours feels pretty epic to me) And just ride until you’re done! Sounds like you are doing just that.
Old 07-20-19, 10:19 AM
JasonD67

Bikes: BMC Teammachine SLR02 Disc, Cannondale CAAD 4

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 10 Posts