Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

What crank for my Giant TCR 1 carbon?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-23, 06:59 PM
wardie

Bikes: Giant OCR 3, Kubachi, Trek 820, Iron Horse Trail, 74 Schwinn LeTour, 95 Schwinn LeTour, Ross Euro Tour, Miayata

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I am wanting to install a compact crank on my 2007 Giant TCR-1 carbon. Im a decent mechanic but not in the ways of bicycle components. Can anyone share what Shimano or FSA crank and part number would fit?
Old 10-11-23, 07:47 PM
veganbikes
Clark W. Griswold

Bikes: Foundry Chilkoot Ti W/Ultegra Di2, Salsa Timberjack Ti, Cinelli Mash Work RandoCross Fun Time Machine, 1x9 XT Parts Hybrid, Co-Motion Cascadia, Specialized Langster, Phil Wood Apple VeloXS Frame (w/DA 7400), R+M Supercharger2 Rohloff, Habanero Ti 26

Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Quoted: 4359 Post(s)
Liked 4,001 Times in 2,670 Posts
Just about any road compact should work with the correct bottom bracket assuming it is the correct number of "speeds". Is there something particular you are looking for? Do you have 9, 10, 11 speeds? If so get the appropriate crank for the number of gears at the back (though generally 10/11 can be swapped around easily and you could probably even run 9 speed if you had to) I would probably go with a nice 105 crank or if you really love the bike get a nice R30 crank from White Industries and get the gear ratio that works for you. You will likely need a different BB but you can find those easily enough so long as you know what standard Giant used on that bike.
Old 10-12-23, 12:02 AM
choddo

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked 453 Times in 338 Posts