Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Standing and riding

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Standing and riding

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-20, 08:49 PM
Awesomeguy

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Riding out of the saddle

When riding the bike standing , my quads really burn ( I’m new to biking) what exercises/ stretches can help me ride longer out of the saddle without this sensation?

Bc of the burning I cant ride out of the saddle more than 30-60 seconds

i haven’t biked since I was in my teens (20 years ago lol)

Last edited by Awesomeguy; 11-15-20 at 08:50 PM. Reason: Incorrect title
Old 11-15-20, 10:40 PM
canklecat
Me duelen las nalgas

Bikes: Centurion Ironman, Trek 5900, Univega Via Carisma, Globe Carmel

Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Quoted: 4560 Post(s)
Liked 2,802 Times in 1,800 Posts
Keep riding out of the saddle. Stand and pedal a bit, then sit and rest. Lather-rinse-vomit-repeat.

Add some other strengthening exercises -- squats, lunges, etc. Check the YouTube Bowflex channel for very good brief tutorials -- they're only 2-3 minutes each, and they don't require any Bowflex equipment and keep the sales pitches to a minimum.

Stair walks. Stepper machines at the gym. Pretty much anything that strengthens the legs, from arches to ankles to knees to quads, hips and lower back. It all helps.