Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Zwift and just a laptop - show me!

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Zwift and just a laptop - show me!

Old 09-28-19, 02:01 PM
  #1  
rousseau
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rousseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Zwift and just a laptop - show me!

Having just recently obtained a used Lynx VR trainer for a fantastic deal (new they're not cheap: https://veloreality.com/product/lynx-vr-trainer-ii/), I'm about to get a Zwift setup going on a laptop, but I'm puzzled about how to perch the laptop in front of me while riding on the trainer.

What do people do? Music stands? Something else? A large screen TV isn't in the cards at the moment.

Anyone got pics of their setup they can share?
rousseau is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 03:13 PM
  #2  
colnago62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 26 Posts
There are stands you can buy from Wahoo and others for this purpose but they are fairly expensive.
colnago62 is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 04:06 PM
  #3  
Pirkaus
Coffin Dodger
 
Pirkaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,768

Bikes: Motobecane Vent Noir, Lynskey R345, Serotta Nova Special X

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 21 Posts
LMGTFY
Pirkaus is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 04:08 PM
  #4  
MoAlpha
• —
 
MoAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 3,561

Bikes: Occasionally

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked 358 Times in 220 Posts
Originally Posted by colnago62 View Post
There are stands you can buy from Wahoo and others for this purpose but they are fairly expensive.
We have the generic one, which looks like the Wahoo one, but costs a hundred less. Pretty good item, but still not exactly cheap.
MoAlpha is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 05:16 PM
  #5  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 784

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF SLX, Blue Norcorss AL,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I have a folding table from Walmart and then put a cardboard box on top of the table. The table cost about $15 and the box was free.
texbiker is offline  
Likes For texbiker:
Old 09-28-19, 05:35 PM
  #6  
str8jakett
I pedal in my sleep...
 
str8jakett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pulaski VA
Posts: 561

Bikes: Giant Propel Advanced Pro 2017, Giant Propel Advanced Pro 2015, Giant TCR Advanced 0 ISP 2008, Cube Cross Race SL 2018

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 15 Posts
I bought one of these:

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F323851385468

Although I got it from Amazon for $70, so I'd shop around. It's been perfect for the task.

str8jakett is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 08:46 PM
  #7  
dagray 
Senior Member
 
dagray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boardman, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,649

Bikes: Orbea Orca,Raleigh Talus 29er, Centurion Le Mans 12 speed

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 16 Posts
hdmi cable to your tv
__________________
If you see an old fat guy levitating through town with his legs pumping furiously... well don't worry there is a bicycle underneath me.
dagray is offline  
Likes For dagray:
Old 09-28-19, 09:50 PM
  #8  
colnago62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by str8jakett View Post
I bought one of these:

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F323851385468

Although I got it from Amazon for $70, so I'd shop around. It's been perfect for the task.

That is a nice setup
colnago62 is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 11:12 PM
  #9  
Bmach
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 21 Posts
+1

Originally Posted by dagray View Post
hdmi cable to your tv
Bmach is offline  
Old 09-28-19, 11:22 PM
  #10  
rousseau
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rousseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Great ideas and feedback, thanks.
rousseau is offline  
Old 09-29-19, 05:42 AM
  #11  
MoAlpha
• —
 
MoAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 3,561

Bikes: Occasionally

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked 358 Times in 220 Posts
So, a related question: Will Zwift display at full res and size on a standard monitor via a HDMI connection from an iPad? Google has been of no definitive help on that one.
MoAlpha is offline  
Old 09-29-19, 07:23 AM
  #12  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 5,090

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2449 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 93 Posts
I'd guess it depends on whether you have a laptop that has a screen fully folds back (ie. to act more like a tablet). If so, got one of these who suits my purpose and can collapse down to stow away and outta sight.

https://www.amazon.com/Gearlux-Vente...gateway&sr=8-1
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 09-29-19, 08:13 AM
  #13  
atwl77
Kamen Rider
 
atwl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: KL, MY
Posts: 586

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Since my other hobby is photography, and I have a tripod to spare, I just needed to get a laptop platform for the tripod.

Also a little Gorrilapod to hold my phone with the Zwift Companion app open.

atwl77 is offline  
Likes For atwl77:
Old 09-29-19, 08:23 AM
  #14  
Dan333SP
Serious Cyclist
 
Dan333SP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: RVA
Posts: 9,105

Bikes: 2013 Madone 3.1

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5535 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by MoAlpha View Post
So, a related question: Will Zwift display at full res and size on a standard monitor via a HDMI connection from an iPad? Google has been of no definitive help on that one.
I hooked up my ipad via HDMI to a TV while I was between laptops, I haven't tried it in a while but I believe it displays in the Ipad's native aspect ratio (4:3?) so it leaves some space on either side of the image, but it does otherwise work seamlessly.
Dan333SP is offline  
Old 09-29-19, 08:51 AM
  #15  
MoAlpha
• —
 
MoAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 3,561

Bikes: Occasionally

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2144 Post(s)
Liked 358 Times in 220 Posts
Originally Posted by Dan333SP View Post
I hooked up my ipad via HDMI to a TV while I was between laptops, I haven't tried it in a while but I believe it displays in the Ipad's native aspect ratio (4:3?) so it leaves some space on either side of the image, but it does otherwise work seamlessly.
Thanks, Dan.
MoAlpha is offline  
Likes For MoAlpha:
Old 09-29-19, 09:58 AM
  #16  
datlas 
Beyond Bogus
 
datlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Malvern, PA (20 miles West of Philly)
Posts: 29,486

Bikes: 1986 Alpine (steel road bike), 2009 Ti Habenero, 2013 Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 419 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9461 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 195 Posts
Here is my setup. Laptop on speaker is ok but as posted above cable to monitor/TV is better.

__________________
Originally Posted by rjones28 View Post
Addiction is all about class.
datlas is offline  
Likes For datlas:
Old 09-29-19, 12:30 PM
  #17  
RShantz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 19 Posts
Consider Apple TV. I can have it up and running in less than a minute. I like it much better than a laptop simply due to how fast it gets started.
RShantz is offline  
Likes For RShantz:
Old 09-29-19, 04:29 PM
  #18  
Dan333SP
Serious Cyclist
 
Dan333SP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: RVA
Posts: 9,105

Bikes: 2013 Madone 3.1

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5535 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by MoAlpha View Post
Thanks, Dan.
No prob! If you have a recent iPhone they do display Zwift natively at 16:9 so you could use that hooked up to a monitor or TV without a cropped image, should work with the same adapter as what you’d use with your iPad.
Dan333SP is offline  
Likes For Dan333SP:
Old 10-01-19, 09:00 PM
  #19  
rousseau
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rousseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by atwl77 View Post
Since my other hobby is photography, and I have a tripod to spare, I just needed to get a laptop platform for the tripod.
That reminded me that several years ago I tried to set up a keyboard stand for a standing desk using a tripod. It didn't work out, it was far too flimsy, but all these years later it suddenly found a use for Zwifting. Here's what I did:



rousseau is offline  
Likes For rousseau:
Old 10-01-19, 09:06 PM
  #20  
rousseau
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rousseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
A couple things I'm still not quite up to snuff about when it comes to Zwift:

1. Are there no course choices? Do you just login and go with whatever it tells you to?
2. How come I have to log in with my username and password every single time? Why doesn't the "Remember Me" option work?
3. It seems like my ostensible speed in the app bears little immediate relevance to what I'm actually doing. One second I'm cruising along at 40 km/h, and then, without changing my pace, I'm back down to 25 km/h. And when I gear up a couple cogs and put in some effort to catch someone my speed seems to stay the same. The only thing that seems to be in sync with the effort I'm putting out is the power meter (though I don't have a heart monitor hooked up). Is this a calibration problem? After tonight's Zwift session I actually did the calibration process using the software for the Lynx trainer, so I guess I'll have to check this next ride.
rousseau is offline  
Old 10-01-19, 09:21 PM
  #21  
guachi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 28 Posts
1. You always have two "worlds" to choose from - Watopia and the real-world location of the day, which you can use the on-screen calendar to see what it is. After you've chosen your world you can choose your route.

2. Mine works fine. I don't have to retype my username/password unless my wife rides. Even then, I only have to type the first letter of my username and it autocompletes and fills in my password automatically.

3. It might be a calibration problem. But if the onscreen power is correct then you'll go appropriately fast for the power and gradient you are on.
guachi is offline  
Old 10-02-19, 06:22 AM
  #22  
mvnsnd
Senior Member
 
mvnsnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,903

Bikes: Caad10, Caad2

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Regarding #3 , make sure Zwift is seeing your power. Do you have an ANT+ dongle in your laptop? After you log in you should see your wireless connections: heartrate, power, controllable trainer, etc.

Your speed in Zwift is related to power input and grade.
mvnsnd is offline  
Old 10-02-19, 08:31 AM
  #23  
DaveLeeNC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pinehurst, NC, US
Posts: 1,353

Bikes: 2020 Trek Emonda SL6, 90's Vintage EL-OS Steel Bianchi with 2014 Campy Chorus Upgrade

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked 40 Times in 30 Posts
When I was a regular Zwifter (laptop, Garmin Vector Pedals, Lemond Revmaster Spin Bike), I would use my pretty heavy duty music stand which worked quite well. Price in the $50 to $75 range at most music outlet places online or even brick and mortar. You need the heavy duty ones that tilt way back. This setup was very stable.

dave

ps. You will notice my other avocation in the pic


DaveLeeNC is offline  
Old 10-02-19, 01:06 PM
  #24  
rousseau
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rousseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by guachi View Post
1. You always have two "worlds" to choose from - Watopia and the real-world location of the day, which you can use the on-screen calendar to see what it is. After you've chosen your world you can choose your route.
I'm still in the free trial stage, but the two times I've used Zwift there was a button to push that said "Let's Go!" without any choice of routes. Does the "worlds" thing start after you supply your credit card details?
rousseau is offline  
Old 10-02-19, 09:26 PM
  #25  
atwl77
Kamen Rider
 
atwl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: KL, MY
Posts: 586

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
After the sensor selection/detection screen, you get to the menu where you get to choose your world, route, type of ride (e.g. workout), and whether to join any upcoming events.

As for the power issue, is your trainer reacting to gradient changes (e.g. getting harder when you go uphill), or does the resistance feel constant?
atwl77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.