Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Trek Sensor computer wheel size

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Trek Sensor computer wheel size

Old 10-20-19, 10:33 PM
  #1  
rseeker
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked 79 Times in 56 Posts
Trek Sensor computer wheel size

I have this old Trek Sensor computer. Any idea how big it thinks my wheels are, used to calculate distance? (I don't see a way to tell it.)


rseeker is offline  
Old 10-21-19, 02:59 AM
  #2  
Pompiere
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,533

Bikes: 1984 Miyata 310, 1986 Schwinn Sierra, 2011 Jamis Quest, 1980 Peugeot TH8 Tandem, 1992 Performance Parabola, 1987 Ross Mt. Hood, 1988 Schwinn LeTour, 1988 Trek 400T

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Usually, when you remove the battery, the computer resets and will walk through the setup when it powers up. Most of them use the wheel circumference to compensate for different tire sizes. The simple way to measure circumference is to put a mark on the floor and the tire, roll forward until the mark on the tire reaches the floor again, and measure.
Pompiere is offline  
Likes For Pompiere:
Old 10-21-19, 03:46 AM
  #3  
ridelikeaturtle
Senior Member
 
ridelikeaturtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 757

Bikes: Bianchi Ti Megatube, M Alloy Pro, Sprint 76; Amp Research B4; Colnago Crystal; Klein Pulse; Litespeed Catalyst, Fondriest Squadra Corse

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked 78 Times in 56 Posts
Originally Posted by Pompiere View Post
Usually, when you remove the battery, the computer resets and will walk through the setup when it powers up. Most of them use the wheel circumference to compensate for different tire sizes. The simple way to measure circumference is to put a mark on the floor and the tire, roll forward until the mark on the tire reaches the floor again, and measure.
^ this.

Just to add, it's normally measured and entered in millimeters, something like 2115 (=2.115 meters) etc.
ridelikeaturtle is offline  
Old 10-21-19, 04:01 AM
  #4  
Prowler 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Near Pottstown, PA: 30 NW of Philadelphia
Posts: 1,346

Bikes: 2 Trek Mtn, Cannondale R600 road, 6 vintage road bikes

Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked 40 Times in 25 Posts
I shudder to suggest folks read the instructions but, when I had one of these a few years ago, I found the manual someplace on line and printed it (PRINTED it!!!!!! How 1940s). As I have 8 or 9 different cycle computers I have to print out one for each. They're all a bit different.
Prowler is offline  
Old 10-21-19, 04:50 AM
  #5  
bobwysiwyg 
Senior Member
 
bobwysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: 961' 42.28° N, 83.78° W (A2)
Posts: 1,987

Bikes: Mongoose Selous, Trek DS

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked 117 Times in 77 Posts
Originally Posted by Pompiere View Post
Usually, when you remove the battery, the computer resets and will walk through the setup when it powers up. Most of them use the wheel circumference to compensate for different tire sizes. The simple way to measure circumference is to put a mark on the floor and the tire, roll forward until the mark on the tire reaches the floor again, and measure.
Being something of a detail nerd I usually enlist my wife to aid in this procedure. Set the Mark, make sure the tire is inflated to you normal pressure, I sit on the bike and roll forward and then measure again when the Mark comes around. Weight and deflection introduce a minor difference that increases over long rides.

Told you I was a detail nerd.
__________________
"Skepticism is the first step in critical thinking." -- Me
bobwysiwyg is offline  
Old 10-21-19, 07:33 AM
  #6  
Chuckk
Groupetto Dragon-Ass
 
Chuckk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lostin Austin, TX
Posts: 284

Bikes: http://mcaf.ee/hsm2z

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked 38 Times in 31 Posts
Google is always your friend - Looks like a rebranded Avocet to me, and you can't beat that.
Chuckk is offline  
Likes For Chuckk:
Old 10-21-19, 01:26 PM
  #7  
rseeker
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rseeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked 79 Times in 56 Posts
Thanks everybody, and especially for the scanned manual @Chuckk .

I did try a web search but came up empty. I was using DuckDuckGo though, so for due diligience I tried Google and again came up with a lot of results that didn't match. It turns out Trek has had many computers called Sensor but they're not all the same. I found one result on Scribd that looks like a match, but first they wanted my email, and I said OK, then they wanted me to sign up for a "free trial" recurring monthly $9.99 membership, which I'd then have to go to war with them to cancel. So, not doing that.

I tried the remove the battery thing but mine just comes back up to operational mode with all values reset to defaults and no opportunity to enter a wheel size. (There is something that may be a reset switch on the back above and to the right of the battery. I didn't try it because it was labeled ambiguously "AC", but from reading I guess that means "Auto Clear".)

But on a guess I selected the ODOmeter view, then pressed and held the left button, then it showed the wheel distance (2124 as apparent default) and let me enter a new value (2180 in my case). Left button to go from one digit to the next, selected digit shows as blinking, right button to increment the selected digit. Left button on the last digit ends edit mode, and a final left button takes you back to ODO and normal operation.

Last edited by rseeker; 10-21-19 at 02:30 PM.
rseeker is offline  
Likes For rseeker:
Old 10-21-19, 01:49 PM
  #8  
Pompiere
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,533

Bikes: 1984 Miyata 310, 1986 Schwinn Sierra, 2011 Jamis Quest, 1980 Peugeot TH8 Tandem, 1992 Performance Parabola, 1987 Ross Mt. Hood, 1988 Schwinn LeTour, 1988 Trek 400T

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by Prowler View Post
I shudder to suggest folks read the instructions but, when I had one of these a few years ago, I found the manual someplace on line and printed it (PRINTED it!!!!!! How 1940s). As I have 8 or 9 different cycle computers I have to print out one for each. They're all a bit different.
That's why I switched to a Garmin, too many different computers with different operating procedures. I can switch the Garmin between bikes without re-calibrating.
Pompiere is offline  
Old 10-21-19, 02:05 PM
  #9  
USAZorro
Señor Member
 
USAZorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hardy, VA
Posts: 16,335

Bikes: Mostly English - predominantly Raleighs

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 36 Posts
Sheldon Brown has entire charts of info on the subject. I would be surprised if you don't find what you need there... even with the lack of recent updates.
__________________
In search of what to search for.
USAZorro is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.