Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Replacing cassette, RD adjustment necessary?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Replacing cassette, RD adjustment necessary?

Old 04-10-12, 07:20 PM
  #1  
markdel 
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A little north of Boston
Posts: 16

Bikes: 2011 Spec Roubaix Elite Apex, 2010 Jamis Coda Sport, 04 Trek 6000, 79 Peugeot UO10

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Replacing cassette, RD adjustment necessary?

Maybe an obvious question, but I searched and wasn't able to find an answer...

I've got an '11 Roubaix with a SRAM PG1050 (Apex) 11-32 cassette. I just ordered a 12-27 PG1070 (Rival/Force) cassette and the tools to change it with. Should I expect to have to adjust the RD or should things just line up the same?
markdel is offline  
Old 04-10-12, 07:51 PM
  #2  
IthaDan 
Senior Member
 
IthaDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 4,915

Bikes: Click on the #YOLO

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
If you have the tools, and, seemingly, the ability, why not just wait and see?

to answer your question though, no, you shouldn't expect to adjust.
IthaDan is offline  
Old 04-10-12, 07:58 PM
  #3  
HillRider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 31,749

Bikes: '''96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '12 Surly Pacer, All are 3x8,9 or 10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 83 Times in 71 Posts
Originally Posted by IthaDan View Post
To answer your question though, no, you shouldn't expect to adjust.
Not necessarily. I've run into several cases where installing the exact same configured cassette by the same manufacturer required minor adjusting of the limit screws and/or minor adjusting of the shift cable tension. There are manufacturing tolerances and it doesn't take much variability to make the shifting deteriorate. As IthaDan noted, wait and see but don't be surprised if you have to do a bit of tweaking.
HillRider is offline  
Old 04-10-12, 08:01 PM
  #4  
yellowsirocco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you are to the point of replacing a cassette then a little RD adjustment shouldn't phase you.
yellowsirocco is offline  
Old 04-10-12, 08:32 PM
  #5  
dsbrantjr
Senior Member
 
dsbrantjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 6,571

Bikes: '93 Trek 750, '92 Schwinn Crisscross, '93 Mongoose Alta

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 124 Times in 105 Posts
You might need to make a few touch-up adjustments due to manufacturing tolerances. You might also tweak the B-screw adjustment to bring the derailleur somewhat closer to the cassette which will aid shifting. Finally, if your chain was properly sized with the 32 tooth cassette it will now be somewhat long with the smaller 27 tooth cassette.
dsbrantjr is offline  
Old 04-10-12, 08:59 PM
  #6  
markdel 
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A little north of Boston
Posts: 16

Bikes: 2011 Spec Roubaix Elite Apex, 2010 Jamis Coda Sport, 04 Trek 6000, 79 Peugeot UO10

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks all. Pretty much what I expected to hear. Mostly was wondering if it would be easy to swap back and forth between both cassettes as needed. Sounds like a little tweak might be necessary which is no biggie.

Though it's usually the subtle adjustments that give me the most trouble
markdel is offline  
Old 04-11-12, 07:03 AM
  #7  
HillRider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 31,749

Bikes: '''96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '12 Surly Pacer, All are 3x8,9 or 10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 83 Times in 71 Posts
Originally Posted by markdel View Post
Thanks all. Pretty much what I expected to hear. Mostly was wondering if it would be easy to swap back and forth between both cassettes as needed. Sounds like a little tweak might be necessary which is no biggie.

Though it's usually the subtle adjustments that give me the most trouble
Yep, the subtle ones are the most troublesome. Pro team mechanics go to great lengths to space all of their team's cassettes and hubs exactly the same so they can change wheels during a race and have reliable shifting. It takes a lot of work to achieve this.
HillRider is offline  
Old 04-11-12, 07:14 AM
  #8  
2manybikes
Dog is my co-pilot
 
2manybikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17,710

Bikes: 2 many

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked 43 Times in 33 Posts
You may not have to adjust it, but you need to check it every time you switch. One or both of the travel stops might need adjusting.
2manybikes is offline  
Old 04-11-12, 07:16 AM
  #9  
bradtx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 7,579

Bikes: Cannondale, Trek, Raleigh, Santana

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by markdel View Post
Thanks all. Pretty much what I expected to hear. Mostly was wondering if it would be easy to swap back and forth between both cassettes as needed. Sounds like a little tweak might be necessary which is no biggie.

Though it's usually the subtle adjustments that give me the most trouble
I swap cassettes to suit an upcoming ride. Most of the time there are no adjustments required, every once in a while there's some fine tweaking even with a swap that didn't require adjustment before.

Brad
bradtx is offline  
Old 04-12-12, 11:03 PM
  #10  
markdel 
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A little north of Boston
Posts: 16

Bikes: 2011 Spec Roubaix Elite Apex, 2010 Jamis Coda Sport, 04 Trek 6000, 79 Peugeot UO10

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Follow-up question based on the mention of chain length... would it be any advantage to use a different chain with each cassette? That would at least keep the wear consistent on each chain/cassette pair, but the crank gears would still be wearing relative to overall mileage.

Sorry, I'm an engineer, so I tend to overthink things :-)
markdel is offline  
Old 04-12-12, 11:22 PM
  #11  
Rx Rider
Geck, wo ist mein Fahrrad
 
Rx Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Front Range
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if your RD is apex, if it's the long cage it might/should be able to handle the extra links.
would chain suck become an issue?
if you do go to two chains I'd suggest the wipperman connex link, or chains. very easy to remove.

Last edited by Rx Rider; 04-14-12 at 04:23 PM.
Rx Rider is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
twocicle
Tandem Cycling
0
11-11-15 04:11 PM
Bike Gremlin
Bicycle Mechanics
7
08-24-15 11:45 PM
GordoTrek
Bicycle Mechanics
8
02-24-12 11:45 AM
RoboCheme
Road Cycling
2
07-23-11 04:03 AM
RoboCheme
Road Cycling
4
04-10-11 10:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.