Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Thru-Axle help needed for a beginner!

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-20, 04:19 AM
Bjnkaya

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello there,

I have recently purchased a Cannondale Road Bike set from eBay, with everything included other than wheels, cassette and disc brake rotors. I have bought a Shimano 9 speed cassette, but I am finding problems with the wheels. As a beginner, I am not sure where else to turn!

I have purchased a Prime Stagiaire Disc wheelset from Wiggle, which is Thru-Axle. My frame is the standard dropouts I think so I am assuming I cannot use thru-axle? What do I need to buy/do to be able to attach the wheels to the frame?

The front is 12 x 100mm and rear 12 x 142mm. I have struggled to find adapters of these sizes. I am pretty beginner so something you could recommend which is simple but not too pricey would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks
Old 06-16-20, 05:15 AM
Fox Farm

Bikes: Merlin Extra Light, Orbea Orca, Ritchey Outback,Tomac Revolver Mountain Bike, Cannondale Crit 3.0 now used for time trials.

Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 34 Posts
Thru axle and standard drop outs are not compatible. Sorry.
Old 06-16-20, 05:18 AM
Bjnkaya

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Fox Farm,

Thanks for your reply. So there's nothing I can do, no adapter or conversion?
Old 06-16-20, 05:28 AM
Fox Farm

Bikes: Merlin Extra Light, Orbea Orca, Ritchey Outback,Tomac Revolver Mountain Bike, Cannondale Crit 3.0 now used for time trials.

Quoted: 126 Post(s)