Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Portable, "Healthiest" Foods for Glycogen Fuel-up

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Old 03-03-21, 01:57 PM
tenniscyclist

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts

I'm new to cycling and trying to get better at finishing stronger while slowly building up my fitness over time. As was wisely pointed out to me in another thread, part of my problem seems to be that my glycogen usage is likely soaring during the final third or so of 50-mile rides. I am looking for specific ideas on what kinds of "healthy" foods (in my medical situation, that might be, e.g., whole grains and fruits) that I can consume before I do a hard 50-mile ride, and, more important, similar healthy, portable foods I can carry and eat very frequently during those rides. Thanks.
Old 03-03-21, 02:05 PM
GrainBrain

Bikes: LeMond Zurich, Giant Talon 29er

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked 609 Times in 458 Posts
Maltodextrin.
Likes For GrainBrain:
Old 03-03-21, 02:41 PM
superdex
staring at the mountains

Bikes: Obed GVR, Fairdale Goodship, Salsa Timberjack 29

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 197 Times in 112 Posts
on a 50-mi ride? bananers. PB&J sandwiches. home-made trail mix. Honestly, whatever sounds good that you can work with. If you're bonking, then the nutrition is (more?) important earlier in the ride. Good preride meals that work for me include oatmeal with a little almond milk, walnuts, honey, and blueberries (that combo is off the top of my head, you can make it however you'd like). What are you eating pre-ride now?
Old 03-03-21, 04:45 PM
rubiksoval

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Quoted: 2622 Post(s)
Liked 1,429 Times in 711 Posts
Originally Posted by GrainBrain