Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Looking for a decent hybrid fixed gear bike

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-15, 10:54 PM
Abstractworld

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm pretty new to biking and I want to purchase a hybrid fixed gear bike to go on the road or a little bit of trails.
My budget is $300 - $500

What can you guys recommend me at this price range?
Old 01-26-15, 11:04 PM
hairnet
Fresh Garbage

Bikes: N+1

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 18 Posts
not sure if trolling
Old 01-27-15, 12:37 AM
Abstractworld

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is that not the right type of bike for road and a little bit of off trail biking?
I want a bike that doesn't have to be taken care of with all the derailluers etc. So a single speed is needed.
I also like the handlebars of a hybrid so it's easy to commute without hurting my neck like a dropbar.
I also want a slightly bigger tire than road bikes to go offroad.

Isn't a hybrid single speed good for this job? Or should I be looking at a different type of bike
Old 01-27-15, 01:14 AM
79pmooney

Bikes: (2) ti TiCycles, 2007 w/ triple and 2011 fixed, 1979 Peter Mooney, ~1983 Trek 420 now fixed and ~1973 Raleigh Carlton Competition gravel grinder

Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Quoted: 4806 Post(s)
Liked 3,932 Times in 2,557 Posts