Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Hi from Arizona

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-03, 01:51 PM
Philberto

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi from Arizona

Just recently found my way here and thought I would say hi. Born and raised in New Mexico, happily surviving in Arizona. Old enough to buy myself the toys now (kids are grown and can buy their own stuff) and equipped enough to build 'em and keep 'em humming.
Old 02-18-03, 05:03 PM
Philberto

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Guess I'll add a bit more in hopes of finding some like-minded people somewhere here on the forum. I'm a computer teacher living in Chandler, AZ. My stepson is a triathlete and has been a major influence in rekindling my love of bikes. After watching him in a meet last year, I bought a road bike and proceeded to lose 25 lbs between May and October. Between me and my wife, we now own 6 bikes and I am a daily commuter. Being a computer hardware junkie and having ridden motorcycles for 20 years, I also love the bike parts and have assembled a humble but potent set of bicycle tools, allowing me to do my own work. Wheelbulding is next on my list! Although bike hardware is fun, I've been reminded (and it's true) that it's not the bike so much as it is the engine. Just Ride.
Old 02-18-03, 06:45 PM
bikeman
Lovin' my Fixie

Bikes: Litespeed Classic, C-Dale MT1000, 80's Trek 770, 2005 Raleigh Rush Hour Pro, Fixed

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcome Philberto,

I imagine the weather at this time of year is just about perfect for riding in AZ. It is still freezing and lots of snow on the ground here in the midwest. What do you do about riding in the intense summer heat? Just go out early or late or bear with it and ride anyway?