Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

My legs take a long time to recover after a bike ride.

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-12, 01:43 AM
Tindo

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello everyone. I didn't know where to post this so i thought this would be a good place. After years of a sedentary lifestyle i took a long look at myself in a mirror one day and i didn't like what i saw, so i decided to go on a diet. I have been dieting for the last 4 months and have lost around 100lbs so i could get in good enough condition to start to exercise and really start to get into some kind of shape other then round. One day while driving home i saw someone selling a bicycle at a garage sale and thought that it would be a good form of exercise, so after buying it and taking it to a bike shop to get new tires, brakes, tube, etc i began to ride it. The first day i was on it i rode it for almost 7 minutes and went less then a mile before i couldn't take it any longer but the next day i felt great for doing it so every day after that i have been going a little further for longer periods of time. I'm currently up to 8 miles and that takes about 55 minutes to do. I eventually want to get up to about 20 miles a day but as things stand now i don't know how I'm going to do that since my legs fell like jello all day after my ride and they never fully recover for the next days ride. I've been reading a lot on these forums about how you should take a few rest days off during the week but since i am not going any great distance I'm wondering if i should do this as well. I'm really new at this and haven't really ridden a bicycle since i was a teenager (I'm currently 46) but i find myself loving i