Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

New to racing (in NYC)

Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

New to racing (in NYC)

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-10, 10:00 AM
tcb

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New to racing (in NYC)

Please school me on clubs and licenses, etc.

This will be my first year of racing. My goal is to get through Cat 5 this Summer, and maybe do a couple Cat 4 races. I'm a freelance worker so there may even be a few weeks I can do multiple races. I've been riding for about 10 years, but don't have a lot of experience riding in groups - which I gather Cat 5 will rectify.

As far as clubs go, I gather I can race in Kissena sponsored races unattached because they are "open," plus I think the fee is the same for Cat 5's. Joining a club like Kissena may give me some support and help me meet people though. Otherwise, I have to be a member of CRCA if I want to race in Central Park.

I live in Brooklyn, and it is likely that I will do most of my racing at Prospect Park and Floyd Bennett Field, but it may be nice to have the option of racing in Central Park. I was thinking I would be riding unattached or as a member of one of those giant clubs through Cat 5 and then see if I make friends or get noticed by a team whom I could race for as a Cat 4...

Also, is a USCF license all I need/want?

Please advise me on how to get started. Thanks!
Old 03-26-10, 10:13 AM
djbowen1

Bikes: Cervelo Soliost

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts