Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

How to Wash Your Bike

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

How to Wash Your Bike

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-16, 04:55 PM
Hosstyle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How to Wash Your Bike

I am new to the cycling world and have been riding everyday for the past few weeks and my bike is getting filthy. How should I be washing and performing preventive maintenance? Thanks!
Old 03-19-16, 05:02 PM
Dave Cutter

Bikes: '17 Access Old Turnpike Gravel bike, '14 Trek 1.1, '13 Cannondale CAAD 10, '98 CAD 2, R300

Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Quoted: 1571 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by Hosstyle
.....How should I be washing and performing preventive maintenance?
People would think that would be something all cyclist could agree on. It isn't.
Old 03-19-16, 05:04 PM
RonH
Life is good

Bikes: 2018 Lynskey Helix Pro

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
You'll need a hose, bike cleaner (like Simple Green), a tooth brush or cassette cleaning brush, chain cleaning tool, and rags/cloth to wipe down the bike. Then you'll need chain lube and lube for other moving parts (like brakes, derailleurs, etc. You should re-lube the cables and inside of cable housings. Don't use lots of pressure and don't spray water into any holes in the frame.
Clean anything else that appears to need cleaning (like rims, hubs, inside of fork, etc).

I am a cyclist. I am not the fastest or the fittest. But I will get to where I'm going with a smile on my face.
Old 03-19-16, 05:11 PM
chasm54
Banned.

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
https://youtu.be/5ak4AzlUz5Q
Old 03-19-16, 05:16 PM
FullGas

Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts