Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Lactate threshold changes/tests

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-12, 12:05 PM
Yotsko

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

First, I'll throw this out there: This is my first year training with a focus.

I've been following Joe Friels training plan and back in November I did my first LTHR test. I did the 30 minute TT one and took my avg heart rate for the last 20 minutes. It was 157, so I set my training zones based on that.

Throughout the rest of fall and winter, I notice my avg HR in 30 minute cross races was hovering right around 170 +/- a beat or two.
Based on that observation, I went out and did the same LTHR test this morning and made sure I was going all out. My avg heart rate over the last 20 min this time was 169.

It would appear to me that I wasn't going as hard as I could the first time, but is it possible for LTHR to change by that much as someone piles up the base miles? Is it possible that maybe I went too hard?
Old 01-24-12, 12:15 PM
merlinextraligh
pan y agua

Bikes: Willier Zero 7; Merlin Extralight; Calfee Dragonfly tandem, Calfee Adventure tandem; Cervelo P2; Motebecane Ti Fly 29er; Motebecanne Phantom Cross; Schwinn Paramount Track bike

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked 724 Times in 371 Posts
Very unlikely that your true LTHR moved that much in 2 months. Your LTHR can move with training. However, it's more the power you are able to produce at that HR that is trainable.