Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Cycling clothing?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-18, 09:37 AM
DarKris

Bikes: Kona Kahuna DL Drop Bar - Sensah SRX Pro 1x11 (2012 Frame), Giant Toughroad GX 1 - Shimano Road Hydro + SLX 1x10 (2018), Diamondback Sync'r - SRAM NX 1x12 (2020)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 97 Times in 54 Posts
Cycling clothing?

I started riding bikes again ~5 years ago as a way to commute on my college campus. I always wore my everyday clothes, but now that I'm not in school & I'm looking to do longer rides I'm finding my clothes to be less than ideal in terms of long term comfort.

I need some advice on clothes that I can wear while cycling that won't be too expensive. Currently riding in sweatpants and occasionally shorts. My focus is finding clothes that are comfortable (and warm if needed), underwear that won't chafe (I can't really afford bibs/padded shorts) as well as something that won't get worn through from coming in contact with my saddle.

Any suggestions? What do you guys ride in?
Old 05-03-18, 09:50 AM
MRT2

Bikes: 2012 Salsa Casseroll, 2009 Kona Blast

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked 208 Times in 146 Posts
Originally Posted by DarKris
I started riding bikes again ~5 years ago as a way to commute on my college campus. I always wore my everyday clothes, but now that I'm not in school & I'm looking to do longer rides I'm finding my clothes to be less than ideal in terms of long term comfort.