Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

New Guy - Looking for some advice

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-15, 08:56 AM
Z3BR4

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys I've read through the noob stickies and I've been reading up as best I can recently. To put it simply, I'm new to cycling but I am a fairly fit guy who has always had an interest in getting started. I really feel single speed is where I want to start and where I'll likely stay. Maybe I'll work into Fixed Gear once I feel confident riding Single Speed. I live in Ohio, in an area with some "hills" if you want to call them that.. Mostly just winding, country, roads and some killer bike paths so I won't be doing any serious climbing. I'm taking the plunge though, and hope that I'll find joy in this sport and fitness. So here it goes:

Not asking for fit but here is what I'm working with. I'm about 5'11 and 225 pounds. So I'm on the large end of the spectrum for cyclists. I lift weights and do cardio 5-6 times a week so I have an athletic frame, very wide shoulders. My real question is more on the side of frames or complete bikes I should be looking at. I'm looking to spend around $500-600 (not opposed to spending less). From my reading here, I have already eliminated several brands that I've been looking at, simply from a quality standpoint (ie. PureFix, Unknown, 17teeth, Crew, the citygrounds phantom brands). I've been looking around at some complete bikes and these are what I've come up with.

Kilo TT (of course)
Leader 721 (on sale on citygrounds right now, $500 for complete bike)
Aventon Mataro