Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

8spd vs 11spd

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

8spd vs 11spd

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-19, 07:34 PM
Staci87

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
8spd vs 11spd

Hey everyone,
I am fairly new to cycling and I have a question but first some backstory I guess.
I bought a used Giant defy 8sp a couple years ago and put an 11/32 cassette on the back. The front is 50/34 and I have loved this bike. I am more of what they call a masher when it comes to bike riding. I am most definitely not a spinner. I recently wanted to upgrade so I bought a carbon fiber Specialized ruby and it has all the same components (50/34 up front and 11/32 in back) except that it is 11spd instead of 8. However, I keep finding myself taking my Giant out to ride instead of the Specialized bc I feel like I have so much more power while riding it vs the Ruby and I have no idea why. I feel like I have to spin a lot while riding the Specialized to stay with my group and I don't understand why. So please, if anyone can help me out and explain why I have to spin so much more on the Ruby vs the Defy eventhough the have the same size crankset and same 11/32 cassette in the back (besides the Ruby having 3 extra cassettes in the back) I would greatly appreciate it. I want to love my Specialized as much as my Giant!
Old 10-20-19, 07:51 PM
HillRider

Bikes: '96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '20 Surly Midnight Special, All are 3x10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Quoted: 2026 Post(s)
Liked 1,095 Times in 741 Posts
Apparently you are riding the Specialized in a different cog than you ride the Giant.
Old 10-20-19, 08:01 PM
DOS

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)