Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Gear ratios for Hills

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Gear ratios for Hills

Old 06-21-20, 12:53 PM
Roadgraveller

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Gear ratios for Hills

Hi all,

I hope you can help.

I'm new to cycling and live in a very hilly place (Lake District) which has 25% - 30% hills, I have SRAM Force Etap AXS gears - 10/33 and 33/46 gears which gives a 1:1 ratio which I hear is quite low for road cycling.

However, I was wondering how much easier it would be going up hills if moving to 10/36 and 30/43? The cost of change I think is quite high so don't want to make the change only to find the difference is tiny. I'm planning a 112m 13k feet of elevation ride and need all assistance possible.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers.
Old 06-21-20, 12:59 PM
DrIsotope
Non omnino gravis

Bikes: Nekobasu, Pandicorn, Lakitu

Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Quoted: 4905 Post(s)
Liked 1,731 Times in 958 Posts
There are no gears that will make a 30% grade "easier." If you're built like a world tour rider, 30% would require +500W to manage 5mph. The rest of us would more than likely have to get off and walk.

I don't know where people live where these insane, virtually impassable grades exist in number. I have one paved road in a 20 mile radius that exceeds 20%, and it's an access road to a reservoir, closed to traffic, reached only by lifting a bike over a fence. It's that steep for about 60 yards.

If you have any questions about more realistic conditions, we may be able to offer some suggestions.
Old 06-21-20, 01:20 PM
Roadgraveller

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by DrIsotope