Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Need help programming Bafang displays

Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Need help programming Bafang displays

Old 11-21-20, 10:59 AM
  #1  
andychrist
Devil's Advocate
Thread Starter
 
andychrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC & Mid Hudson Valley, NY
Posts: 356

Bikes: 2005 Fuji Del Rey, 1998 or 99 Bacchetta Giro 20, 2009? RANS Stratus XPC

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Need help programming Bafang displays

Just completed build of dual drive 48V 500W Bafang hub motors and 52V DireWolf batteries, but can’t program the 500C and P850C displays for compatibility. Following the video instructions, try to use the + and - buttons to change values for km/mi, brightness, etc but they only advance/reverse modes and leave the default settings intact. Would like to be able to limit max speed to 12mph/20kph and set nominal voltage to 52, as Luna claims is possible with the C500 (and should be with the P850C as well) so as not to fry anything. Then again, both displays do indicate the current battery voltage (which when the DireWolves are full is around 58) so perhaps that info is used by the controller and no need to enter manually?

Any help much appreciated!

Last edited by andychrist; 11-21-20 at 11:06 AM.
andychrist is offline  
Old 11-21-20, 01:11 PM
  #2  
andychrist
Devil's Advocate
Thread Starter
 
andychrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC & Mid Hudson Valley, NY
Posts: 356

Bikes: 2005 Fuji Del Rey, 1998 or 99 Bacchetta Giro 20, 2009? RANS Stratus XPC

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Never mind, figured it out.

Interestingly, there is an option on both displays to select 52V without having to manually enter the digits, even though Bafang’s own Display Comparison chart only lists 24/36/48/60(V).

Other weird thing, on the 500C display, after having chosen Imperial over Metric, selecting Max Speed still showed values in km rather than mi. So simply entered 20, which should translate to 12mph. P850C OTOH displayed max speed in mph.

Whew!

Out later for the first test ride. If I fail to update this thread, you all can imagine what happened.

Last edited by andychrist; 11-21-20 at 01:15 PM.
andychrist is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.