Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Garmin Edge 1030 Battery Display Issue

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-20, 11:24 AM
Hypno Toad
meh

Bikes: 23 Cutthroat, 21 CoMotion Java; 21 Bianchi Infinito; 15 Surly Pugsley; 11 Globe Daily; 09 Kona Dew Drop; 96 Mondonico

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1111 Post(s)
Liked 1,013 Times in 519 Posts

I've been using my Edge 1030 for more than 2 years and been very happy with it. Just this week, I've started having an issue with the battery - I'll have it on the charger and it displays 100% charged; take it off the charger and it displays 33% charged. It looks like an issue with the battery level display and not the actual battery life available. I'm going to ride with it without charging for a week to test my theory.

Anybody else seeing somethin similar?

For reference, I ride nearly every day and only charge once a week.
Old 10-01-20, 12:13 PM
Steve B.

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 3242 Post(s)
Liked 2,086 Times in 1,181 Posts
Not seen this, my 1030 is 3 years old I think. It's on the latest 10.2 OS as well.
Old 10-01-20, 08:30 PM
atwl77
Kamen Rider

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked 277 Times in 164 Posts
The battery indicator has been buggy but not as bad as yours. Mine would charge up to 100% but then show 95% upon disconnect. On one occasion it was even stuck at 100% the whole time.
Old 10-02-20, 10:33 AM
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 887 Post(s)
Liked 560 Times in 346 Posts