Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Thanks, but I'll manage...I said thanks...No, see, I...TAKE A FREAKING HIKE!

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-13, 07:39 PM
Velo Dog

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Shortening a long story as much as possible, I've been cycling as an adult for more than 40 years, usually a couple of thousand miles a year but as many as 8,000. An illness two years ago took me off the bike, and this spring/summer I'm slowly getting back into it. Strength's coming back, control is shaky but improving; my distance is a quarter of what it was, but 18 months ago I was rolling a wheelchair. I've set up my bike to accommodate my problems (more upright, big tires, lower gearing etc.) and life is good.
I live near the midpoint of a popular 25-mile training loop from town, so nearly every time I go out I run into groups and gaggles and herds of cyclists. I'm wobbling around at 12.5 mph, happy to be alive, and for some reason about 20 percent of the people who pass feel obligated to critique my bike, my position, my equipment and my clothing: You'll be a lot faster once you upgrade to clipless pedals, sir (did that 20 years ago, and I wasn't). Boy, you know those tires really slow you down (no, they don't, but I wouldn't care if they did). Is that a Brooks saddle? Man, those are heavy (see how you like them after six hours). You should lower those handlebars (raised 'em when I realized it stopped my back from hurting). Once you get stronger, you won't need that triple crank (I used to BE stronger, and I needed it then. Now I REALLY need it). And so on.