Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Buying a used bike

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Buying a used bike

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-14, 01:08 AM
RamAlaRag 

Bikes: Bianchi San Jose - Di2 Alfine, 1985 Eddy Merckx Corsa Extra, 1984? Miyata TerraRunner, 1986? Miyata 1000, 1988? Fuji Opus III, Nishiki International

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Buying a used bike

Hi all,

Not sure if I should post this here or in the road cycling forum.

Anyway, I am new to cycling, only been cycling since November. I currently only have SS/Fixed gear bikes and would really like to upgrade. I made a thread a while ago about it, but since, I got into a car accident, and the funds for the bike diminished. So, now it is $500-600 max.

I will probably be buying from craigslist. What can I get for this? Is it worth just waiting for the funds for a new bike? I assume I wont really mind buying another one when I have more money, I just need something for the summer. I am a student, so I have the summers off and I hope to fill this summer with riding.

Things to look out for when buying from craigslist?

Before, I was deciding between a CAAD8 or CAAD10.

Thanks!
Old 03-09-14, 01:18 AM
Retro Grouch 

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1572 Post(s)
Liked 643 Times in 364 Posts
Originally Posted by RamAlaRag
Bikes come in sizes. Size affects your comfort, efficiency and performance every single minute that you're riding on it. In terms of importance, nothing else even comes close. You wouldn't buy shoes that were the wrong size just because they were cheap.