Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Obsolete or Make your Own Bicycle Graphics Tip

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-11, 04:36 AM
robbied196

Bikes: Harry Hall, Vitus 979, Viscount Aerospace, Dawes Galaxy

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 1 Post

I work as a Graphic Designer and restore bicycles. A combination of jobs that led me to a pretty trick way of making new, or re-creating bicycle graphics.

I thought I'd post the process here is case its of some use to someone.

I'm currently restoring a 1956 Dunelt and I know there's no way of tracking down new old stock, or replacement transfers and in any case a lot of graphics from this period were painted. Fortunately, between what was left of the original graphics and google images I found a good reference to start.

So here is what I do.

Step 1. Photograph or google a half decent image of what your trying to create.

Step 2. Re-draw the graphic. Ok, I do this sort of thing everyday but if you've got a basic drawing package and a bit of patience you can soon achieve good results. I'm using the technological route here, but, all of this can be could done by hand with a pencil and scalpel, like the old days!

Step 3. What I end up with on my computer is a 'vector file', a wireframe of the graphic. This type of file can be used with any plotter to cut the vinyl.

Step 4. The cut vinyl. Now I remove the vinyl where I want the paint to go.