Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Garmin 800 Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-10, 05:10 PM
jyjyjy81

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garmin 800 Question

I have decided to purchase a Garmin 800 in the very near future but have a few questions. I am new to ultra events having participated in 3 12 hour events last year plus the ADK540 (DNF...but did OK) and for 2011 I plan on trying a few 24 hour events. I have a PowerTap.

1. The battery life is estimated at 15 hours. Will I be able to "merge" data after replacing the battery part way through a 24 hour event?
2. How many hours of power data can it hold? (the Cyclops PowerTap holds only 12 hours worth of data)
3. Can I load a race route onto the Garmin and it guides me through? ( may be silly question but new to using gps stuff)
4. Have Garmin units dropped in price in the past or is it likely the price of the 800 will stay constant for the foreseeable future?

Thanks!
Old 12-17-10, 06:09 PM
MetinUz

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
I also have PowerTap, and the short battery life of Garmin is a major reason why I am not interested in one. I think the PowerTap computer records for 14 hours at 1 second setting, but you can configure it to store samples every 2 or 5 seconds, which proportionally extends the recording time.
Old 12-17-10, 06:24 PM
Marcello

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts