Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Best Hardtail for Under 500 bucks?

Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Old 09-03-19, 07:35 AM
7tevoffun

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Hi all,

Brand new to the forum - I posted a question about value of an old Cannondale mountainbike a few days ago, so not a total newbie.

I am in the market for a good introductory hardtail mountainbike that I can use to lug my daughter around in her trailer as well as enjoy some trail riding when I have the time. I'm not looking for anything amazing at the moment and want something that will last me a while and be a decent investment over the next handfull of years. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Likes For 7tevoffun:
Old 09-03-19, 07:58 AM
Leebo

Bikes: Kona Dawg, Surly 1x1, Karate Monkey, Rockhopper, Crosscheck , Burley Runabout,

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked 111 Times in 66 Posts
Shop used, this fall you should find some end of season deals. Wheel size? 27.5 or 29er would work.
Old 09-03-19, 07:59 AM
7tevoffun

Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I'm good with either wheel size. I'm around 6 foot 1 if that helps any recommendations.
Old 09-03-19, 09:52 AM
prj71

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 2964 Post(s)
Liked 1,163 Times in 760 Posts
Anything new under $500 will be department store junk.

As is always the case with these types of threads...You want to start your budget around $1000 for a new hardtail or half that for good used hardtail.

$500 or less new mountain bikes will be a pile of junk
Old 09-03-19, 10:02 AM
riverdrifter

Bikes: 1985 Cannondale SR500, 1990 Cannondale ST600, 1993 Cannondale M700

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked 272 Times in 105 Posts