Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Am I being unreasonable bikenet stylee? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1262946)

sara_s_1211 11-09-22 12:04 PM

Am I being unreasonable bikenet stylee?

I’m not a newbie to cycling but I am to this forums and I just want to check if I’m being ridiculous. I bought 28 x 1.25 wheels from @tredzBikes. At no point on the webpage did they identify them as being 700b tyres which aren’t compatible with my 700c wheels. I am now liable for the £20 return postage as I bought the wrong size tyres. am I being unreasonable to think that’s a bit cheeky or should the shear fact it was sold in inches be enough to alert me to the fact they were 700b tyres.
The breadth of ways of describing tyre sizes left me confused but I’ve seem them referred to as obsolete on this forum...

Reynolds 531 11-09-22 12:10 PM

Originally Posted by sara_s_1211 (Post 22705737)
I’m not a newbie to cycling but I am to this forums and I just want to check if I’m being ridiculous. I bought 28 x 1.25 wheels from @tredzBikes. At no point on the webpage did they identify them as being 700b tyres which aren’t compatible with my 700c wheels. I am now liable for the £20 return postage as I bought the wrong size tyres. am I being unreasonable to think that’s a bit cheeky or should the shear fact it was sold in inches be enough to alert me to the fact they were 700b tyres.
The breadth of ways of describing tyre sizes left me confused but I’ve seem them referred to as obsolete on this forum...

This is a lose lose situation for all involved. This has happened to all of us at one time or another.

The simplest way to avoid such mismatch in the future is in this article.

the key phrase is "The ISO system to the rescue"

Koyote 11-09-22 12:33 PM

You bought the wrong size tires. Why should the seller pay for return shipping?

sara_s_1211 11-09-22 12:38 PM