Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Touring (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   What else do you bring along? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1289862)

imi 03-19-24 02:46 AM

What else do you bring along?

Apart from ride, eat, sleep, do you carry stuff for work, hobbies etc?

I’m an author and musician, so paper, pencils, laptop, and 3/4 size guitar.

sloar 03-19-24 04:09 AM

Kindle and small art pad and pencil.

Tourist in MSN 03-19-24 04:56 AM

Nope.

Brought a novel a few times. Brought a small tablet or netbook a few times. Did not get farther than maybe 10 pages in the novel.

I often put some large files on my phone to read or maybe watch a copy of a youtube videos on my phone if I have a long plane flight or otherwise have a specific time where I know I will have nothing to do. But I do not plan ahead for anti-boredom activities. Sightseeing, hiking at a park, time for grocery shopping and re-packing, laundry, that usually is sufficient. Add in a few restaurant meals to check out the local cuisine. If on a trip where I did not create a specific route to follow in advance, I have spent spare time doing route planning with my phone and paper maps.

I am retired, so have no bothersome work tasks.

ADDENDUM:

I see people in later posts comment on photography. I take a lot of photos. Mostly with a point and shoot type camera that is waterproof, an old Pentax WG-3. If I anticipate much wildlife on a tour I might bring an even older Pentax Superzoom for the wildlife. But, that is something that is spur of the moment, rarely scheduled in advance.

indyfabz 03-19-24 05:30 AM

Camera and Kindle. Pen so I can do the NYT crossword if I can find the paper.

gauvins 03-19-24 05:40 AM

A small tablet + folding keyboard. If I need to do heavy lifting, I'll SSH, and sometimes remote (anydesk). (academic)

Steve B. 03-19-24 05:44 AM