Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=220)
-   -   Finally surpassed 5,000 miles for 2021 (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1242870)

classic carl 11-26-21 07:18 AM

Finally surpassed 5,000 miles for 2021

November has been a tough month to ride for me between a chest cold and the weather not cooperating. I finally got out on the day before Thansgiving for 28 miles and I reached 5,000 for the year. I've been over 3,000 a few times in the past, including last year when I started riding again after a long hiatus. I turned 65 in August. My goal for the year is actually 5,200 (100 mile avg. per week). We're leaving for our winter residence in Florida in 2 weeks, so I should have no problem achieving my ultimate goal if I don't get to ride much until then. It's snowing here today.

https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...200e96741c.jpg
https://cimg4.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...a8f93bb30a.jpg

10 Wheels 11-26-21 07:20 AM

Keep it going.
Most for me was 15,923 miles my 2nd year.

andrewclaus 11-26-21 08:30 AM

Congratulations. Normal for me the last couple of decades, since I quit commuting (lots of 10,000 mile years then), has been closer to 3,000. When COVID first hit last year, there was literally nothing else to do, so I doubled the cycling. It feels good to exceed 5,000 again. My 75 yo friend and mentor is less than a hundred away from his 5,000, and since he lives in Phoenix I think he'll make it. It's worthy goal.

257 roberts 11-26-21 09:08 AM

Congratulations

Trsnrtr 11-26-21 09:47 AM

Congratulations from me. too. Many here exceed that but I've always felt that 5K deserves a lot of respect as an achievement for most people. So... Chapeau!

https://cimg3.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...a0a0c4306c.jpg

OldRailfan 11-26-21 10:10 AM

Congrats!! :thumb: :thumb:

I never got that high and I never will, but that's OK.

jppe 11-26-21 11:26 AM

Good going!