Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   issue with spokes My hybrid bike (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1259636)

Dadbodrider 10-03-22 07:47 PM

issue with spokes My hybrid bike

Hi all, first post.

I have been riding for about two years. I got into it for some exercise. I'm 42 yo 120 kg guy. Last year I bought a Roam 2 from Giant. Its a nice Hybrid. I mainly ride it along the M7 bike track in Sydney Australia. I normally ride three times a week. Two shorter 20 km rides, and a longer 60 km ride on the weekends.

Two weeks while riding I broke a few spokes while trying to power up a hill. I took it back to Giant where I bought it and the replaced 4 spokes. Yesterday after completing 40 km of one of my longer rides, while going up a hill, I hear a noise (twang) and stopped and looked at the wheel and found two more spokes snapped. I have spoken to Giant, and they are say i need to get a new wheel and the priced me from A$600 to A$2000. The bike only cost me $900 to start with.

My questions are,

1) is there a way for me to stop breaking spokes?

2) can i upgrade the spokes to a better material?

3) Do i upgrade the wheel or get a new bike?

4) If I need to upgrade my bike, do i sell it and buy a better bike?

5) If i need upgrade the wheel, what wheel do i need?

Thank you in advanced,

Koyote 10-03-22 08:07 PM

Welcome to Bike Forums, and congrats on taking up cycling. Sounds like you have developed a nice fitness routine.