Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   My nearly maintenance free new bike (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1240404)

Route 66 10-11-21 01:17 PM

My nearly maintenance free new bike

I bought this bike about a month ago and I think I'm in love. I've been riding a bike for 60+ years and I was hoping to find one that didn't require all the usual maintenance. This is my Spot ACME belt drive bike. It's made in Colorado and has a Gates Carbon drive that's lasts four times as long as a conventional bike because the belt doesn't stretch the way a chain does. It also has a Shimano Alfine 11 speed shifter with the gears sealed inside the rear hub. Because it is belt driven and the gears aren't exposed, the bike is super quiet. The only routine maintenance needed is to do an oil change (50ml) on the rear hub every 7K miles. I'm as pleased as I can be with this thing. No more cleaning and oiling a chain, adjusting a derailleur and hearing a chain ride the gears!

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...5f674ca71.jpeg

wolfchild 10-11-21 01:55 PM

California has such nice weather that bikes ridden over there don't need any maintenance ..Go ride in the Northeast or Canada during winter and I guarantee you that pretty looking bike is going to need maintenance.

Maelochs 10-11-21 02:53 PM

It suits your needs and provides you with all the features you desire. You got the right bike.

Good for you.

frogman 10-11-21 06:53 PM

[QUOTE=wolfchild;22266209]California has such nice weather that bikes ridden over there don't need any maintenance ..Go ride in the Northeast or Canada during winter and I guarantee you that pretty looking bike is going to need maintenance.[/QUOTE

Trying to figure out whether your sarcastic remark is trolling or you are envious of a bike with a superior drive system than yours.