Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Advice on buying a new frame (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1198158)

Dord 04-13-20 10:39 PM

Advice on buying a new frame

Hey all,

I am looking at buying a frame and then build my own bike, it's my first time doing this, so please be gentle.

It's a brand new Cramerotti Tour D frame made from Dedacciai COM 12.5 steel. It comes with a brand new 1" threadless FSA headset and 1" cromo threadless canti/disc fork. Never been used because it's a shops old stock.

It's up for $275 Canadian. This seems like a good deal and the frame looks sweet.

Is this a fair price? I am asking because I am new at this and the frame is in my size and budget. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

easyupbug 04-15-20 07:32 AM

I suggest you go down to the bottom of the Bicycle Mechanics page to Forum Jump and check out the two Canadian discussion groups under Regional Discussions. Probably a nice frame at a great price.

Iride01 04-15-20 08:02 AM

How new are you to this? Familiar with working on bikes? Have many of the parts laying around already that you want to put on it?

New frames might seem like a cheap way to go, but if you have to buy all the pieces parts to put on the frame then you'll likely be more than what you could have purchased an already built bike. As well, some of the tools you need will add to the cost and some may only be used for that particular part you are installing and may not be ever used again.

If you are building the bike because you want specific things on it that you can't get on model sold fully built and are okay paying more, then building your own is realistic and will be educational.

Dord 04-15-20 08:12 AM