Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   What to consider when buying a dedicated bike for trainer? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1238267)

kosmo886 09-07-21 05:52 AM

What to consider when buying a dedicated bike for trainer?

So, I am new to having an indoor trainer and plan to use one all winter. I am a bit concerned about the wear and sweat accumulation etc. on my road bike, so considering getting a bike to just use on a trainer. I have the Wahoo Kickr and Climb, so really don't even need the wheels. Is the groupset even remotely important? I don't think so given it would mostly be in ERG mode and controlled by the kickr. I assume I want something with reasonably similar geometry to my road bike, but other than that, anything I should pay more for or prioritize? I am going to go with a used bike and keep the cost down.

rdmn 09-07-21 06:19 AM

Compatibility of the frame with the kickr.

PeteHski 09-07-21 10:07 AM

Geometry is not important as there are no "handling" requirements on the trainer. Obviously you want the size to fit you reasonably well (stack & reach in the ballpark), but it's nowhere near as critical as when riding outdoors. Groupset doesn't really matter as you have figured.
Don't forget to budget for a huge, powerful fan!

spelger 09-07-21 10:16 AM

Originally Posted by kosmo886 (Post 22218719)