Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=273)
-   -   Trek OCLV 5000 First timer here (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1268628)

barryallen 03-08-23 01:47 PM

Trek OCLV 5000 First timer here

Hi - First time getting a decent bike, came across this - seller is willing to do $400 - any ideas if this is a good deal? Total newbie here - appreciate the help!

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...ssenger_banner

Mackers 03-08-23 01:58 PM

Frame looks good, but I may be wrong here but I count 9 cogs in the back and those are 10 speed shifters so take "It is good and well work. No issues." with a pinch of salt :)
Looks like seller threw together a bike with what was left in the parts bin.

barryallen 03-08-23 02:33 PM

weird! I didnt even notice that

Eric F 03-08-23 02:51 PM

It's an older bike (late-'90s, early-'00s), but the Trek OCLV frames are durable and ride nice (I have a 1999 OCLV MTB that is beat to hell, but still rides great). The mix of components is a but curious, and may or may not be indicative of other issues. I'm guessing the 9sp 105 components are original. As mentioned above, the 10sp shifter and 9sp cassette thing raises a flag, but maybe not a red flag. The cassette is also a pretty tight range. If you're planning to do a lot of climbing, or the hills in your area are steep, you might want to replace it with something with more on the low end. I've seen these bare frames selling for similar prices, so this price isn't out of line. However, you may need to throw some more money at it to make it right for you. This has the potential to be a very capable road bike.

barryallen 03-08-23 03:36 PM

Thanks! Yeah looks in good shape - a bit nervous about the mix of things now that it is mentioned - not even sure how to ask about it lol

curbtender 03-08-23 03:41 PM