Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Catapulting Disc Brakes (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1212046)

work4bike 09-03-20 07:36 AM

Catapulting Disc Brakes

I've been riding for over 30 years and have yet to try out the relatively new Disc Brakes. In the early years I catapulted over the handlebars on at least two occasions and nearly catapulted at least two other times, before it became instinct for me to squeeze the rear brake first.

I'm curious how easy is it to catapult using front disc brakes (compared to traditional brakes)? I'm wondering if my current methodical use of traditional brakes, where I brake first with rear brakes, then employ the front brakes would smoothly cross over to use of disc brakes.

(I guess this question is best for riders that rode many years with traditional brakes, that recently have transitioned over to discs).

Koyote 09-03-20 07:55 AM

Depending on the rim brakes you're using, disc brakes may be a little more powerful (mechanical discs) or much more powerful (hydraulic discs). As with anything, it's simply a matter of becoming accustomed to them. But yeah, starting with the rear brake, and then applying the front, will be a good starting point.

DorkDisk 09-03-20 07:56 AM

Originally Posted by work4bike (Post 21675652)
I've been riding for over 30 years and have yet to try out the relatively new Disc Brakes. In the early years I catapulted over the handlebars on at least two occasions and nearly catapulted at least two other times, before it became instinct for me to squeeze the rear brake first.

I'm curious how easy is it to catapult using front disc brakes (compared to traditional brakes)? I'm wondering if my current methodical use of traditional brakes, where I brake first with rear brakes, then employ the front brakes would smoothly cross over to use of disc brakes.