Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Replacement front derailleur: what to look for? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1244323)

schwim 12-28-21 02:05 PM

Replacement front derailleur: what to look for?

Hello there everyone!

First off, I apologize for the ambiguity that's incoming. I'm not allowed to post either links or images, so my hands are a bit tied. If you Google "Schwinn Katana", you'll see the bike in question.

I'm doing a couple upgrades and the one thing I'd like to swap out is the pressed steel front derailleur. The problem is, I'm a road bike newbie and I don't know what specs I need to look for in it.

I'm in need of a 2x7 speed unit and I like to upgrade by eBaying new takeoffs. What should I be looking for? It's a clamp style mount and the pull is from below.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

70sSanO 12-28-21 02:59 PM

You’ll have to measure the seat tube diameter, or check the inside of the A050 clamp to get the correct diameter.

That bike looks to have stem mounted shifters, so the left (front) would be friction.

I tend to look for older FD’s on eBay.

If you are going to keep using those shifters, older Suntour Cyclone are nice FD’s that seem to handle a wide range of chainrings.

If you plan to upgrade the shifters one day, a Shimano 105 FD-1056 is one of the best with flat chainrings and STI shifters.

John

schwim 12-28-21 03:03 PM

Originally Posted by 70sSanO (Post 22354045)
You’ll have to measure the seat tube diameter, or check the inside of the A050 clamp to get the correct diameter.

That bike looks to have stem mounted shifters, so the left (front) would be friction.

I tend to look for older FD’s on eBay.

If you are going to keep using those shifters, older Suntour Cyclone are nice FD’s that seem to handle a wide range of chainrings.