Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Phil Waterproof Grease (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1253779)

Symox 06-20-22 12:21 AM

Phil Waterproof Grease

Got some recently and wanted to share it's great stuff. I’ve tried a few oils, greases and home brew concoctions for my hubs and pedals but this is the best in terms of viscosity, lubricious and ability to stay where needed.

yeah it’s pricey but I can vouch it is worth it

smd4 06-20-22 07:02 AM

Yes, Phil grease is top-notch stuff. A tube will last you a long time.

rccardr 06-20-22 07:09 AM

Personal fave!

HillRider 06-20-22 08:09 AM

Oh boy, bring popcorn! :popcorn "Which grease?" tends to produce long, and often heated, threads.

Yes, Phil is my favorite too and I've been using it for over 30 years. I keep the cost per ounce reasonable by buying it in 600gm tubs that last for years and using a refillable Dualco grease gun as an applicator. It does work and I have hubs with over 80,000 miles as evidence.

squirtdad 06-20-22 09:45 AM

My go to grease for years, and I think I just finished by first tube, bought a second and was given a third...so I am good for grease for 20 or 30 years

davidad 06-20-22 01:05 PM

Overpriced bike grease. Automotive grease if good for our low-speed low load use.

smd4 06-20-22 01:16 PM

I think the Phil is great stuff, and still have a bit left in my tube.

I've recently shifted over to the Shimano/Dura Ace Special Grease, after opening up my 1984 Dura Ace pedals, and finding the nearly 40-year-old stuff in them was still as good as new.

squirtdad 06-20-22 02:05 PM

Originally Posted by davidad (Post 22548248)
Overpriced bike grease. Automotive grease if good for our low-speed low load use.

one tube of phil's at 13 bucks that will last a normal home user 10 years plus is not over priced IMHO. Handy to use in the tube also