Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   thin wrench for hubs (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1254032)

sean.hwy 06-23-22 03:50 PM

thin wrench for hubs

I have extra thin Facom wrenches from when I was an auto mechanic but it's still wide. Where can I buy 17mm wrench that's thinner than my Facom?

sean.hwy 06-23-22 03:56 PM

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...350901a5b7.jpg
https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...4ca87f6d75.jpg

HillRider 06-23-22 03:58 PM

Park Tools sells thin "cone wrenches" that should be what you want. The sizes available range from 13 to 28mm and 17mm is a common one. Most on-line and local bike shops and Amazon sell them.

Crankycrank 06-23-22 04:27 PM

+1 ^^^ Park makes good ones or just do a search for "bicycle cone wrenches". Stay away from the cheapie, swiss cheese types as they sometimes bend or have a sloppy fit and slip off the nuts. Since you're an ex-auto mechanic, I think you know what I mean.

WizardOfBoz 06-23-22 04:34 PM

Originally Posted by Crankycrank (Post 22552050)
+1 ^^^ Park makes good ones or just do a search for "bicycle cone wrenches". Stay away from the cheapie, swiss cheese types as they sometimes bend or have a sloppy fit and slip off the nuts. Since you're an ex-auto mechanic, I think you know what I mean.

Agree - Many cheap cone wrenches are made of Chinesium alloy. This alloy has the hardness and wear resistance of Manchego cheese. Buy good stuff and don't encourage the b*****ds who make c**p.

PS Strongly recommend serving Manchego with membrillo (dried quince paste) or Goya guava paste. Mmmmm.

sean.hwy 06-23-22 04:58 PM

Thanks guys. Now I know what to search for.

3alarmer 06-23-22 06:46 PM

Originally Posted by sean.hwy (Post 22552081)
Thanks guys. Now I know what to search for.