Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Gorilla glue for inner tube punctures? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1253948)

BrenZan 06-22-22 12:38 PM

Gorilla glue for inner tube punctures?

complete noob to bike repair here...I've been looking online regarding glues for inner tube punctures (with patches) - I've only got Gorilla Glue at home currently, and it seems the concensus is to get rubber cement. I'm still curious as to just how effective Gorilla Glue would be.

also, how true is the stuff bike shops say about patching inner tubes being a short-term?

Bill Kapaun 06-22-22 12:53 PM

Get a REMA repair kit.
Don't screw around with less.
https://www.rematiptop.com/products/...pair-kits.html

Tawraste666 06-22-22 01:02 PM

No, get good stuff.
A friend of mine used a poundshop puncture repair kit and had the glue melt right off the tube due to the heat generated from braking on a fast and long descent.
Personally, I prefer a brand new tube every time.

Velo Mule 06-22-22 01:03 PM

+1 on Rema Tip top kits. The patch, if done correctly, will last decades. I also like that the patch is thin and tapered at the edges but the most important thing is that it works. Bike shops always provide a new tube. This is just how they work. They get money for the tube and the labor.

freeranger 06-22-22 01:12 PM

Rema, as prev stated. When there is a tried and true product, why would you use something else? If no LBS nearby, a local auto store probably has them. I've never considered a well done patch job as temporary.

79pmooney 06-22-22 01:20 PM

Another Rema fan. Good thing is there are plenty of other kits that use the same glue and patch system that work but Remas are consistently the best so I I have a choice I always go there. (Good patch kits use vulcanizing glue, not a cement. Fundamentally different system.)

ThermionicScott 06-22-22 01:23 PM