Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Bikes from Dick's any good? (Schwinn, Diamondback, Nishiki) (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1094655)

taitrantrong 01-13-17 05:10 AM

Bikes from Dick's any good? (Schwinn, Diamondback, Nishiki)

Sorry, total noob here. I'm looking for a decent bike to ride around the city, maybe some soft dirt tracks once in a while. I saw some pretty good deals in Dick's Sporting Goods for hybrid/sport bikes. Should I buy them? Any recommendation or suggestion about the brands there?

Thanks.

MRT2 01-13-17 05:50 AM

Many threads on the pros and cons of big box and sporting goods store bikes. In my neck of the woods, Dicks is not much better than Target or Wal Mart. I would steer clear.

EnjoyinTheRide 01-13-17 06:32 AM

Its very simple.'

If you plan on "cycling" as a serious lifestyle then you need to go to the lbs, they will have everything there. If your a recreational rider of multi use paths, local short city commutes, general use purpose, just wanna make bike riding part of your day, then you will be fine. I find Dicks in my area to be a little more pricey than K/Wal marts, sears etc. Dicks does have more hybrid/road bikes than the other box stores. I would suggest that if you see a particular brand they offer, check online for that brands site. You may find they offer it direct a little cheaper. That is what I found out when I priced Dicks for a Firmstrong (which is in fact a high quality cruiser line out of California...same company as sixthreezero). It was 60 bucks higher at Dicks than if I buy direct. So at least compare mfg/dicks sites....

Ultimately I would say if you went into your Dicks, saw a bike they had in stock, you really like it.....I would go check online or at another store with comparable brands and compare price. It wouldnt surprise me if you found it a little cheaper somewhere else...