Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Dead di2

Old 06-05-23, 04:30 PM
  #1  
CrowSeph
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CrowSeph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Italy
Posts: 1,001

Bikes: BMC SLR01; Cannondale Trail; Lot's of project and vintage bikes..

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked 163 Times in 100 Posts
Dead di2

Help! During update the app shown an error. Now nothing works. I tried unplug the derailleur cable and wait a bit but still nothing change.How i can fix as fast as possible? I also don't have any kind of cable except for the charging one......
CrowSeph is offline  
Old 06-05-23, 04:48 PM
  #2  
Polaris OBark
ignominious poltroon
 
Polaris OBark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2162 Post(s)
Liked 3,293 Times in 1,719 Posts
The first place to look for a possible answer is here: https://bettershifting.com

I'll keep looking, but I wanted to post that first.

Maybe try this: https://bettershifting.com/frequentl...my-di2-system/

Briefly, it says to unplug the battery and wait, to initiate the reset.






Are you dealing with 12 speed or 11 speed?

Last edited by Polaris OBark; 06-05-23 at 05:02 PM.
Polaris OBark is offline  
Likes For Polaris OBark:
Old 06-05-23, 06:35 PM
  #3  
BTinNYC 
...
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Whitestone and Rensselaerville, New York
Posts: 1,407

Bikes: Bicycles? Yup.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked 1,333 Times in 666 Posts
Can you get it into crash mode?
BTinNYC is offline  
Old 06-05-23, 06:52 PM
  #4  
Polaris OBark
ignominious poltroon
 
Polaris OBark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2162 Post(s)
Liked 3,293 Times in 1,719 Posts
Wireless updating of firmware (which I have never tried) does occasionally cause this problem. I would try the battery unplug trick first, and if that does not resolve it, a reset followed by wired firmware install is probably the best option. If you don't have the charger that allows one to do this from a PC, a bike shop should be able to do it for a few hundred thousand euros.
Polaris OBark is offline  
Old 06-06-23, 12:53 AM
  #5  
CrowSeph
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CrowSeph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Italy
Posts: 1,001

Bikes: BMC SLR01; Cannondale Trail; Lot's of project and vintage bikes..

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked 163 Times in 100 Posts
Originally Posted by Polaris OBark
The first place to look for a possible answer is here: https://bettershifting.com

I'll keep looking, but I wanted to post that first.

Maybe try this: https://bettershifting.com/frequentl...my-di2-system/

Briefly, it says to unplug the battery and wait, to initiate the reset.






Are you dealing with 12 speed or 11 speed?
12s, already tried unplug the cable (the derailleur one) but nothing change
CrowSeph is offline  
Old 06-06-23, 12:53 AM
  #6  
CrowSeph
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CrowSeph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Italy
Posts: 1,001

Bikes: BMC SLR01; Cannondale Trail; Lot's of project and vintage bikes..

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked 163 Times in 100 Posts
Originally Posted by BTinNYC
Can you get it into crash mode?
12s does not have crash mode
CrowSeph is offline  
Old 06-06-23, 07:23 AM
  #7  
Koyote
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7,679
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6821 Post(s)
Liked 10,743 Times in 4,592 Posts
TerryDi2C is the resident Di2 expert and one of the forum's most helpful members. Perhaps tagging him will get the OP the needed info.

Though in the meantime, the simplest solution is to take the bike to a good shop.

Last edited by Koyote; 06-06-23 at 08:20 AM.
Koyote is offline  
Likes For Koyote:
Old 06-06-23, 09:24 AM
  #8  
eduskator
Senior Member
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,010

Bikes: SL8 Pro, TCR beater

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked 551 Times in 416 Posts
Originally Posted by CrowSeph
12s, already tried unplug the cable (the derailleur one) but nothing change
The instruction says to unplug the battery, not the RD. Try it, it may fix your issue. It's inside the seat post.

Shimano app has never been very good... Not surprised to read such failure. If you tried updating through Bluetooth, try it through your computer instead (e-tube software needed. Windows only - Mac not supported) and see if it works.

You can always bring it to your LBS and see if they can work their magic.
eduskator is offline  
Old 06-06-23, 09:26 AM
  #9  
Psimet2001 
I eat carbide.
 
Psimet2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 21,620

Bikes: Lots. Van Dessel and Squid Dealer

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked 1,297 Times in 555 Posts
You have to pull the cables at the battery and let it set if you want the soft reset. Apart from that I would highly recommend NOT updating firmware via the app. I have seen more than one Shimano Di2 system become inoperable from firmware updating via Bluetooth/app.

With 12spd unfortunately you're going to be best off finding a shop with a PCE02 diagnostic tool to push all of the firmware updates and do testing and find any error codes if the soft reset doesn't work.
__________________
PSIMET Wheels, PSIMET Racing, PSIMET Neutral Race Support, and 11 Jackson Coffee
Podcast - YouTube Channel
Video about PSIMET Wheels

Psimet2001 is offline  
Likes For Psimet2001:
Old 06-06-23, 10:55 AM
  #10  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 6,751

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3142 Post(s)
Liked 1,970 Times in 1,127 Posts
Originally Posted by Psimet2001
You have to pull the cables at the battery and let it set if you want the soft reset. Apart from that I would highly recommend NOT updating firmware via the app. I have seen more than one Shimano Di2 system become inoperable from firmware updating via Bluetooth/app.

With 12spd unfortunately you're going to be best off finding a shop with a PCE02 diagnostic tool to push all of the firmware updates and do testing and find any error codes if the soft reset doesn't work.
I recall a period a few years ago of folks having trouble updating via the mobile app, when the WU111 got its OS updated, it would crash the system. You needed to take to a shop to get the diagnostics software to fix. PITA, lessoned learned only update via USB

I have not updated in years as no point. The system shifts perfectly and from what I've seen, nothing about the updates makes perfect better.
Steve B. is online now  
Old 06-06-23, 04:37 PM
  #11  
Koyote
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7,679
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6821 Post(s)
Liked 10,743 Times in 4,592 Posts
Originally Posted by eduskator
If you tried updating through Bluetooth, try it through your computer instead (e-tube software needed. Windows only - Mac not supported) and see if it works.
Originally Posted by Psimet2001
Apart from that I would highly recommend NOT updating firmware via the app. I have seen more than one Shimano Di2 system become inoperable from firmware updating via Bluetooth/app.
Originally Posted by Steve B.
I recall a period a few years ago of folks having trouble updating via the mobile app
Heck, even before I owned a Di2 bike, I knew that one should never attempt to update it via BT. That's been a known issue for a loooong time. I'm not saying it's okay -- if the app gives you an option to update like that, then it should work. But it is known to 'brick' a bike pretty often.
Koyote is offline  
Old 06-07-23, 12:38 PM
  #12  
CrowSeph
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CrowSeph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Italy
Posts: 1,001

Bikes: BMC SLR01; Cannondale Trail; Lot's of project and vintage bikes..

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked 163 Times in 100 Posts
Here how i fix everything.
It was late night and the battery were at 40% when the problem begin. I tested a few things for example remove the rd cable without any update.
The next day the battery was completely drained, i just plugged into the charger and let it charge completely.
After the bike was charged the rd and fd were functional eccept for the satellite buttons on the hoods, at this point my phone was not connecting to the bike.
I used another phone with my e-tube profile and make a full update on the firmware list, then disconnect from the other phone and connect with mine.
I was able to cheeck almost everything, and disconnect it whitout any errors. Then after the disconnecting all the personal preferences including the satellite button came up as they were before.

Pretty silly if you think, and pretty stupid how shimano is selling some expensive cables for those kind of problems (or asking to send the groupset for assistance).

I hope this tread and my last update will help people figuring out how to solve it.
CrowSeph is offline  
Likes For CrowSeph:
Old 06-07-23, 01:51 PM
  #13  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 8,560

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4678 Post(s)
Liked 1,508 Times in 983 Posts
Just a question out of curiosity, but what improvements come with this Di2 update, presuming you eventually get it to work?
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 06-07-23, 01:57 PM
  #14  
Polaris OBark
ignominious poltroon
 
Polaris OBark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2162 Post(s)
Liked 3,293 Times in 1,719 Posts
Originally Posted by Sy Reene
Just a question out of curiosity, but what improvements come with this Di2 update, presuming you eventually get it to work?
If you want to add a newer component (say a derailleur replacement or a gear display or other part), you almost certainly will have to do a firmware update so that it will be recognized. Also, they sometimes issue bug fixes.

Having said that, I haven't updated since 2015.

Last edited by Polaris OBark; 06-07-23 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Even more explaining.
Polaris OBark is offline  
Old 06-07-23, 02:06 PM
  #15  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked 1,596 Times in 756 Posts
Firmware updates on just about any electronic device are, IMHO, a crap shoot. I updated the firmware on a DSLR and it turned into a brick. My motto is "if it's working fine for me, leave it alone."
Bald Paul is offline  
Likes For Bald Paul:
Old 06-07-23, 06:59 PM
  #16  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,864
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4098 Post(s)
Liked 4,478 Times in 2,786 Posts
Originally Posted by Bald Paul
Firmware updates on just about any electronic device are, IMHO, a crap shoot. I updated the firmware on a DSLR and it turned into a brick. My motto is "if it's working fine for me, leave it alone."
Maybe, but I’ve updated firmware many times on countless devices without any major issues. So there is no excuse for Shimano to turn it into a crap shoot
PeteHski is offline  
Likes For PeteHski:
Old 06-07-23, 07:12 PM
  #17  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 8,560

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4678 Post(s)
Liked 1,508 Times in 983 Posts
It's like a BIOS update. I won't even pretend to know what they are, but I cringe if I see that my PC is somehow automatically updating it and I can't stop it. I have no idea what it's for, or if things will be screwy after it's done. The ole 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' adage is what we're on about.
Sy Reene is offline  
Likes For Sy Reene:
Old 06-09-23, 01:02 PM
  #18  
Psimet2001 
I eat carbide.
 
Psimet2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 21,620

Bikes: Lots. Van Dessel and Squid Dealer

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked 1,297 Times in 555 Posts
Agreed with above - I have seen enough issues over the years that I don't recommend updating the firmware unless there's an issue you're already having. If it is working then it's working.
__________________
PSIMET Wheels, PSIMET Racing, PSIMET Neutral Race Support, and 11 Jackson Coffee
Podcast - YouTube Channel
Video about PSIMET Wheels

Psimet2001 is offline  
Likes For Psimet2001:
Old 06-09-23, 01:55 PM
  #19  
LarrySellerz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2619 Post(s)
Liked 463 Times in 335 Posts
Stuff like this is why I turn my nose at electronic shifting. You’re just asking for trouble.
LarrySellerz is offline  
Old 06-09-23, 03:56 PM
  #20  
Mojo31
-------
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Tejas
Posts: 12,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9319 Post(s)
Liked 6,172 Times in 3,388 Posts
Originally Posted by LarrySellerz
Stuff like this is why I turn my nose at electronic shifting. You’re just asking for trouble.
You sure it’s not a cost issue.
Mojo31 is offline  
Old 06-10-23, 10:04 AM
  #21  
Koyote
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7,679
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6821 Post(s)
Liked 10,743 Times in 4,592 Posts
Originally Posted by LarrySellerz
Stuff like this is why I turn my nose at electronic shifting. You’re just asking for trouble.
And you can't afford it.
Koyote is offline  
Likes For Koyote:
Old 06-10-23, 12:24 PM
  #22  
Fredo76
The Wheezing Geezer
 
Fredo76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Española, NM
Posts: 964

Bikes: 1976 Fredo Speciale, Jamis Citizen 1, Ellis-Briggs FAVORI, Rivendell Clem Smith Jr.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked 822 Times in 404 Posts
With apologies to the OP, who is just looking for a solution, the last two posts remind me that mixing the software world with the bicycling world was a mistake. You end up with people boasting that software difficulties are worth extra money, which they are superior for having.

Last edited by Fredo76; 06-10-23 at 01:13 PM.
Fredo76 is offline  
Old 06-11-23, 12:42 PM
  #23  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked 65 Times in 42 Posts
On 12-speed Di2, pull the wire from the middle port of the battery for ~5-15 seconds and then reconnect it.

If there is a dummy plug in there, take that out instead... and then reconnect it after a couple of seconds
TerryDi2C is offline  
Likes For TerryDi2C:
Old 06-11-23, 02:37 PM
  #24  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked 65 Times in 42 Posts
Originally Posted by CrowSeph
12s does not have crash mode
Well... it does. It just doesn't have the crash mode reset that requires you to press and hold the junction/RD button ;-)
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 06-12-23, 04:26 AM
  #25  
PeteHski
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,864
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4098 Post(s)
Liked 4,478 Times in 2,786 Posts
Originally Posted by LarrySellerz
Stuff like this is why I turn my nose at electronic shifting. You’re just asking for trouble.
Originally Posted by Fredo76
With apologies to the OP, who is just looking for a solution, the last two posts remind me that mixing the software world with the bicycling world was a mistake. You end up with people boasting that software difficulties are worth extra money, which they are superior for having.
These posts remind me of the Luddites.
PeteHski is offline  
Likes For PeteHski:

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.