Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

Checkpoint=1 Cadence Sensor=0

Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Checkpoint=1 Cadence Sensor=0

Old 06-13-22, 08:12 AM
  #1  
exercion
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 89

Bikes: Cannondales: Synapse 5 Carbon and F5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 24 Posts
Checkpoint=1 Cadence Sensor=0

Love my bike, but hate trying to fit a cadence sensor on it. Won't clear on the cranks, so I read about putting it on the outside of the chain ring. That worked for about 400 miles, but the sensor went adrift somewhere on a bouncy decent this weekend. I'm almost ready to try epoxying it on. I have straps, not laces on the shoes, so that doesn't look like a good option.

What have you found works?
exercion is offline  
Old 06-13-22, 08:41 AM
  #2  
Fentuz
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 455

Bikes: Dahon Jetstream p8 (sold), customized Dahon Helios P18, customized Dahon Smooth Hound P9, Planet X Free Ranger (mullet setup), Frog 52 9s and Frog 48 1s

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 98 Posts
I run mine (3 of them on 3 bikes) on the non drive crank. Due to clearance, I run them about 1/2" from the bottom bracket.

To be safe, all my sensors (cadence and wheel speed) are attached using either garmin or wahoo mounting system but for added safety, I alway add a cable zip tie all around to secure the lots.
Fentuz is offline  
Old 06-13-22, 08:43 AM
  #3  
force10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Originally Posted by exercion View Post
Love my bike, but hate trying to fit a cadence sensor on it. Won't clear on the cranks, so I read about putting it on the outside of the chain ring. That worked for about 400 miles, but the sensor went adrift somewhere on a bouncy decent this weekend. I'm almost ready to try epoxying it on. I have straps, not laces on the shoes, so that doesn't look like a good option.

What have you found works?
What cadence sensor? I have a garmin that fits fine on my Checkpoint crank - non-drive side.
force10 is offline  
Old 06-13-22, 12:36 PM
  #4  
biker128pedal
Senior Member
 
biker128pedal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern VA
Posts: 1,443

Bikes: 2021 Domane SL6, Black Beta (Nashbar frame), 2004 Trek 1000C being made an all arounder.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked 286 Times in 179 Posts
I assume your using the Bontrager Duotrap sensor for speed and cadence that fits in the stay. I have that on my Domane SL. The magnet holders that came with it did not fit and looked unsightly. I used 3M double stick take to attached the the larger magnet to the inside of the crank. Or if you lost the magnet, pickup a rare earth magnet at the store or on the web.

The 3M tape is a gray foam. Thin and comes with red backing. Made for outside use. Attach and trim the excess before removing the red backing. Clean the place you plan to attach. I used painter tape I had to hold it in place and make sure to worked before and attaching. It almost would work just stuck to pedal spindle without the tape.

Here are a couple of pictures. The larger sensor I think is the Garmin attached with double stick tape.


Last edited by biker128pedal; 06-13-22 at 12:42 PM.
biker128pedal is offline  
Old 06-13-22, 12:59 PM
  #5  
BTinNYC
...
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Whitestone and Rensselaerville, New York
Posts: 495

Bikes: 1980 Motobecane Nomade, 1989 Centurion Prestige, 2022 Canyon Endurace SL8

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked 408 Times in 208 Posts
I have a cadence sensor happily attached to a crankset spider arm. On the inside of NDS crank the sensor rubbed the chainstay.
BTinNYC is offline  
Old 06-13-22, 01:12 PM
  #6  
biker128pedal
Senior Member
 
biker128pedal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern VA
Posts: 1,443

Bikes: 2021 Domane SL6, Black Beta (Nashbar frame), 2004 Trek 1000C being made an all arounder.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked 286 Times in 179 Posts
I see the OPs attached to the chain ring so cannot be the cool 😎 Duotrap. In that case like above says inside the spider if there is room.
biker128pedal is offline  
Old 06-14-22, 05:01 AM
  #7  
exercion
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 89

Bikes: Cannondales: Synapse 5 Carbon and F5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 24 Posts
My new sensor is IGPSport, and seems a whisker thinner than my dearly departed one. I tucked this one on the NDS arm, almost touching the BB. Just have 10 miles so far, may add some tape, or I am thinking of fabricating a wide rubber band from an old road inner tube for a bit more security, if there's enough clearance. Yeah it's a snug fit. Not near the bike for a picture.
exercion is offline  
Old 06-14-22, 09:14 AM
  #8  
Fentuz
Full Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 455

Bikes: Dahon Jetstream p8 (sold), customized Dahon Helios P18, customized Dahon Smooth Hound P9, Planet X Free Ranger (mullet setup), Frog 52 9s and Frog 48 1s

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 98 Posts
Originally Posted by exercion View Post
, may add some tape, or I am thinking of fabricating a wide rubber band from an old road inner tube for a bit more security, if there's enough clearance. Yeah it's a snug fit. Not near the bike for a picture.
if you are looking into that, get a large heat shrink tube for industrial cable and shrink wrap using heatgun or hair dryer (might take a while)

obviously, take the pedal off while you fit the sleeve

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/203043868...mis&media=COPY

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/142449455...mis&media=COPY
Fentuz is offline  
Old 06-14-22, 09:41 AM
  #9  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 3,966
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2457 Post(s)
Liked 836 Times in 548 Posts
Originally Posted by exercion View Post
My new sensor is IGPSport, and seems a whisker thinner than my dearly departed one. I tucked this one on the NDS arm, almost touching the BB. Just have 10 miles so far, may add some tape, or I am thinking of fabricating a wide rubber band from an old road inner tube for a bit more security, if there's enough clearance. Yeah it's a snug fit. Not near the bike for a picture.
Why don't you just get the Bontrage DuoTrap sensor that integrates with your bike?
prj71 is offline  
Likes For prj71:
Old 06-14-22, 10:03 AM
  #10  
chas58
Senior Member
 
chas58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,853

Bikes: too many of all kinds

Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked 408 Times in 329 Posts
I zip tie them to my shoes (to the boa straps actually). Since I use multiple bikes, this works great for me.
chas58 is offline  
Old 06-14-22, 02:14 PM
  #11  
exercion
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 89

Bikes: Cannondales: Synapse 5 Carbon and F5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 24 Posts
Originally Posted by prj71 View Post
Why don't you just get the Bontrage DuoTrap sensor that integrates with your bike?
Doesn't integrate with mine, thanks.
exercion is offline  
Old 06-16-22, 05:08 AM
  #12  
biker128pedal
Senior Member
 
biker128pedal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern VA
Posts: 1,443

Bikes: 2021 Domane SL6, Black Beta (Nashbar frame), 2004 Trek 1000C being made an all arounder.

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked 286 Times in 179 Posts
Originally Posted by exercion View Post
Doesn't integrate with mine, thanks.
Oh did not say the year. Anyway how about shoe. Others have done this. Then mobile to any bike.
biker128pedal is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.