Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Shimano 6800 rear shifting issues?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-21, 05:40 PM
deacon mark

Bikes: Habanero Titanium Team Nuevo

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 185 Times in 121 Posts

I am a competent mechanic and wheel builder but at a loss on this. My Habby (exposed cables) has Shimano 6800 groupset with 26,000 miles on them since 2017. Generally they have worked perfect never missing a shift. Today I had a flat and got that fixed. Then I notice my rear shifting went bad. It would not upshift of downshift unless I hit it numerous times. I got home and went through everything. Normally it is a binding issue. I put on housing and new cables on the shifter. Still does this no help at all.

I checked at the shifter and if I put the cable in and hold tension against it with my hand it clicks 10 times up and back. Does not seem to drag or be binding but those last two high gears seem like not much cable is being pulled. I am not sure if the ratio changes as you move up. It could be the rear derailleur but it seems like it moves free and generally rear derailleurs are pretty stout and work. I know it seems to be a tension and binding problem but I wonder if anyone else has had this issue. About 1 week ago it was doing the same thing and I came home clean up things and re-tensioned the cable and it work prefect for till today.. During that time since I have road about 350 miles. I have been riding about 800-1000 miles a month. I did ride 2 days with some rain which I normally do not but I have tried new housing cable.