Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Alt Bike Culture
Reload this Page >

Do you need a GoPro?

Notices
Alt Bike Culture Chopped, dropped, stretched, lifted, and otherwise cut up and put back together. The art and science of choppers, cruisers, lowriders and the vast world of mutant bicycles.

Do you need a GoPro?

Old 11-21-21, 06:25 AM
  #26  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
Originally Posted by sean.hwy View Post
I do a lot of 4 to 7 hour rides on the weekend. 99.99% of the time I don't want to record anything.
I record road crossings, danger zones & highlights. mine will record 1 long clip if I don't stop start it. so, back home when I am reviewing them, more smaller clips works for me. I prefer 60 frames per second over 30 frames per second. still photos can be interesting & useful. the cam I use can do single, time lapse & burst. it's pretty fun having a camera on a bike ride, if even not just for recording everything for the rare moment of something that needs to be reported to law enforcement. in my entire life of cycling, even after a bike being run over after I jumped off it to I didn't get killed, I never reported anything to law enforcement. there are a lot of cra*ppy ppl out there but mostly they are just cranky that they have to share the road. for the most part, I am my worst enemy on the bike
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-21-21, 06:36 AM
  #27  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 397 Times in 200 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
I'm not familiar w/ all their products. why did you make the switch?
Usually, the newer versions / higher number GoPros have higher resolution, and better stabilization.

HOWEVER, I've read reviews on the new GoPro Hero 10, and some have complained that it will only record minutes at a time on highest resolution before it overheats and shuts down. Also, battery life is terrible.

My Hero 8 cams will record in enough definition to be able to read license plates, and the stabilization is excellent, even when mounted on the handlebars (forward facing) and seat post (rearward facing.)
Bald Paul is offline  
Likes For Bald Paul:
Old 11-21-21, 06:52 AM
  #28  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
Originally Posted by Bald Paul View Post
Usually, the newer versions / higher number GoPros have higher resolution, and better stabilization.

HOWEVER, I've read reviews on the new GoPro Hero 10, and some have complained that it will only record minutes at a time on highest resolution before it overheats and shuts down. Also, battery life is terrible.

My Hero 8 cams will record in enough definition to be able to read license plates, and the stabilization is excellent, even when mounted on the handlebars (forward facing) and seat post (rearward facing.)
thank you & your new "9" is waterproof w/o a case?
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-21-21, 07:31 AM
  #29  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 397 Times in 200 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
thank you & your new "9" is waterproof w/o a case?
In my experience, NOTHING is waterproof. Water resistant to varying degrees, yes. However, in order to attach an external power supply, you have to remove the (waterproof) door and install something aftermarket, which renders the camera NOT water-resistant.

I'm looking at an aftermarket aluminum case for the camera that has an external power supply cable built into a "door" that screws into place with an O ring, that supposedly retains the waterproof rating of the camera. Of course, since it's aftermarket, should it fail, the damage to the camera would not be covered. Why GoPro doesn't come up with an accessory for this purpose is beyond me.

Bald Paul is offline  
Likes For Bald Paul:
Old 11-21-21, 03:04 PM
  #30  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
Originally Posted by Bald Paul View Post
NOTHING is waterproof
mine are. maybe you'll have better luck w/ the new one
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-21-21, 04:42 PM
  #31  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 397 Times in 200 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
mine are. maybe you'll have better luck w/ the new one
Oh, mine are advertised as waterproof to 33 ft underwater. I've had other devices advertised in a similar fashion, and water still managed to get inside them.

As soon as I installed the battery door with the small cutout that allowed access to the charge port for the external power supply, the 'waterproof' rating goes to zero.
Bald Paul is offline  
Likes For Bald Paul:
Old 11-22-21, 08:23 AM
  #32  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
Originally Posted by Bald Paul View Post
Oh, mine are advertised as waterproof to 33 ft underwater. I've had other devices advertised in a similar fashion, and water still managed to get inside them. As soon as I installed the battery door with the small cutout that allowed access to the charge port for the external power supply, the 'waterproof' rating goes to zero.
mine don't have replaceable batteries. I have good battery life but I also have multiple units. so when one dies I just use another that I carry w/ me. kind of like carrying an extra battery, I guess. if you can change batteries, why us an external power source, instead of carrying extra batteries? just curious
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-22-21, 08:51 AM
  #33  
Bald Paul
Senior Member
 
Bald Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 397 Times in 200 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
mine don't have replaceable batteries. I have good battery life but I also have multiple units. so when one dies I just use another that I carry w/ me. kind of like carrying an extra battery, I guess. if you can change batteries, why us an external power source, instead of carrying extra batteries? just curious
I've found the battery life to be very dependent on the outside temperature. On hot days, it goes dead much sooner that on a cooler day. Where the cameras are mounted, it's impossible to see the display, so I never know how much battery is left. And, should the battery go dead mid-ride, all the video files are corrupted somehow, and you can't review them.

With my external packs, the cameras run off those and can last up to 3 hours. At that point, the internal battery kicks in for another 45 minutes to an hour, depending on temp. If I know my ride is going to be longer than that, I do carry extra batteries.

Ideally, someone will come up with a GoPro remote app that can be downloaded to my Garmin 1030+, allowing me to turn the cameras on/off and start/stop recording via BT. GoPro has a remote unit (I have one) but it's not reliable, and keeps losing BT connection to the cameras. I gave up trying to use it on rides. Plus, I could just use my Di2 buttons to scroll to the screen on the Garmin when I needed to, instead of fishing in my pocket for the remote, which has no method of attaching a lanyard. The mount cradle you can buy for it doesn't work on aero bars, either (ask me how I know this.)
Bald Paul is offline  
Old 11-22-21, 09:58 AM
  #34  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
Originally Posted by Bald Paul View Post
I've found the battery life to be very dependent on the outside temperature. On hot days, it goes dead much sooner that on a cooler day. Where the cameras are mounted, it's impossible to see the display, so I never know how much battery is left. And, should the battery go dead mid-ride, all the video files are corrupted somehow, and you can't review them.With my external packs, the cameras run off those and can last up to 3 hours. At that point, the internal battery kicks in for another 45 minutes to an hour, depending on temp. If I know my ride is going to be longer than that, I do carry extra batteries. Ideally, someone will come up with a GoPro remote app that can be downloaded to my Garmin 1030+, allowing me to turn the cameras on/off and start/stop recording via BT. GoPro has a remote unit (I have one) but it's not reliable, and keeps losing BT connection to the cameras. I gave up trying to use it on rides. Plus, I could just use my Di2 buttons to scroll to the screen on the Garmin when I needed to, instead of fishing in my pocket for the remote, which has no method of attaching a lanyard. The mount cradle you can buy for it doesn't work on aero bars, either (ask me how I know this.)
oh interesting. ok then makes sense to have the external power source. I don't have an indication of battery life either, but I know when it dies. but the files are all still ok, including the one it was recording when it died
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-22-21, 12:35 PM
  #35  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 25,837

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked 1,315 Times in 909 Posts
& for anyone w/o a small sport cam, may I add that they have other uses. I use mine to inspect my roof gutters for leaves & ice dams & I just rigged it to inspect my neighbor's attic crawl space. matched it with a new "Alty" bike light & will set the cam to time-lapse & just snap a few pics all around
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 11-23-21, 11:59 PM
  #36  
Rolla
Gyro Captain
 
Rolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 1,311

Bikes: 4 Singlespeeds, 2 Gearies

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked 1,378 Times in 611 Posts
Ugh. One more gizmo to fuss with. I ride my bike to get away from technology.
Rolla is online now  
Likes For Rolla:
Old 11-24-21, 02:11 AM
  #37  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 26,267
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14862 Post(s)
Liked 2,632 Times in 1,953 Posts
I've got a GoPro 10 that I've been doing other recording with.

I've been disappointed that I get about an hour of battery life (go pro, moderately high res, using the multimedia attachment).

I have a DigiPower extended battery case on order, but it hasn't arrived yet.
CliffordK is offline  
Likes For CliffordK:
Old 11-24-21, 12:03 PM
  #38  
SpedFast
Just Pedaling
 
SpedFast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 39 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by rumrunn6 View Post
& for anyone w/o a small sport cam, may I add that they have other uses. I use mine to inspect my roof gutters for leaves & ice dams & I just rigged it to inspect my neighbor's attic crawl space. matched it with a new "Alty" bike light & will set the cam to time-lapse & just snap a few pics all around
Colonoscopy comes to mind, based on the shape of the camera...
SpedFast is offline  
Likes For SpedFast:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.