Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

Bottecchia

Old 12-04-21, 05:40 PM
davzimmermann

Bikes: '93 Bridgestone X05, '04 Cannondale F2000

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bottecchia

I am on the hunt again, and I came across this Bottecchia. i had one back in the 90s and foolishly let it go.

Thoughts? Advice? I’m a bit worried this is just nostalgia.

Old 12-04-21, 06:10 PM
Bianchigirll 
Bianchi Goddess

Bikes: Too many to list here check my signature.

Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2912 Post(s)
Liked 2,836 Times in 1,460 Posts
I’m no expert but I don’t think Bottecchia ever used those wrap around seat stays, unless it was on lower end models

Interesting mix of parts with a Victory crank, Athena brake calipers and Time pedals.

Sugar "Kane" Kowalczyk
Likes For Bianchigirll:
Old 12-04-21, 06:35 PM
randyjawa 

Bikes: 1958 Rabeneick 120D, 1968 Legnano Gran Premio, 196? Torpado Professional, 2000 Marinoni Piuma

Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Quoted: 1370 Post(s)
Liked 1,743 Times in 934 Posts
I agree with BGirl, the wrap around stays don't belong. With that in mind and considering the mixture of components, it would be hard to say what the bike is. It does look to be in nice shape and, unless you seek an original vintage steed, it might prove to be a worth while purchase for an around town ride. Were it me, however, and at the price asked, I would definitely pass.

As for the nostalgia concern, yes and no. For some people, yes but for many of us, my guess is just an interest in finding, building and riding something that exudes vintage appeal.
Old 12-04-21, 06:37 PM
juvela

Mentioned: 414 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3783 Post(s)
Liked 3,288 Times in 2,148 Posts
-----

appears a midliner model with very mixed kitting