Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Recovery for sore quads.

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Recovery for sore quads.

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-22, 04:27 PM
Wyoguy

Bikes: Gravel, Mtn, Road

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Recovery for sore quads.

Confession, this is a skiing injury caused by not biking enough leading up to ski season. I started riding regularly towards the end of summer until it got too cold and the road icy. I then took an RV trip and had to leave the bike behind for fear of getting my bike stolen off the rack.

So to begin ski season my legs are not ready. I skied 5 runs hard and quit when my legs began to give out. My legs have been sore for a few days with deep ache in my quads. I am taking a few days off from skiing to let them recover. I plan on setting up a bike trainer and Zwift this winter. Would some light spinning on my bike trainer help my quads recover or prolong the number of days till I can ski again?
Old 12-08-22, 08:23 PM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Quoted: 3885 Post(s)
Liked 1,938 Times in 1,383 Posts
Spinning usually helps. Say, 30', once a day. Besides the recovery aspect, light pedal pressure and high cadence will help build in some resistance to future muscle failure.

But what you really needed was gym work and cycling. Barbell squats, one-legged leg presses, stiff-legged deadlifts, dumbbell deadlifts, Roman chair, one-legged calf raises. Cycling does build leg strength if one does enough of it, especially long max effort climbs and hill sprints. I sure notice the difference when I've also been in the gym twice a week for a couple months before ski season.