Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Another Vent Hole Question

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-21, 07:30 AM
Tandem Tom

Bikes: 1992 Serotta Colorado II,Co-Motion Speedster, Giant Escape Hybrid, 1977 Schwinn Super Le Tour

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 85 Posts

I have noticed that there are vent holes on the chain stays. Are they necessary? As a real novice here it seems like the BB would be more than adequate.
Old 12-24-21, 08:48 AM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4197 Post(s)
Liked 3,849 Times in 2,300 Posts
I can think of one reason right away. Two points of entry/exit makes for better flush out and drying. Also related is how they hold their frame/sub assemblies during this. Andy
Old 12-24-21, 08:56 AM
pwyg

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts