Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Percentage Effort E-Bike vs Standard Bike

Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Old 03-05-22, 12:03 PM
Sportdog

Bikes: Trek FX2, Nishiki Tri-A, Univega Sportech

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts

I know there is no "etched in stone" answer to this but can anyone hazard a qualified guess as to the mechanical/effort advantage of an E-Bike over a conventional hybrid style bike?

I have zero knowledge of how E-Bikes work.
Old 03-05-22, 12:46 PM
MNebiker

Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked 152 Times in 83 Posts
The most common ebike is referred to as a "pedal assist" bike. As you pedal the system senses your pedal input and adds electric assistance to your pedaling effort. The bike system typically has several levels of assistance that you can select. These will vary by manufacturer, but one article I read stated that the amount of added assistance varies from 60% of your pedal effort to 300%. This enables the rider to select the amount of assistance needed for terrain and riding conditions. There is usually a maximum speed limit programmed into the system - laws on this vary according to location.

You can find more info on the web - a good place to start would be the Bosch ebike web site.

This YouTube video may also help:

Last edited by MNebiker; 03-05-22 at 01:15 PM.
Likes For MNebiker:
Old 03-05-22, 01:23 PM
fooferdoggie 

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked 945 Times in 552 Posts
yes with bosch the new motors can do 350% ands if you spend money on a nyon you can adjust it. with a hub drive and cadence sensor its more about the speed you want to go. here is my settings.
with a torque sensing system How hard you peddle controls how much assistance you get.

Old 03-05-22, 05:11 PM
LeeG

Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked 81 Times in 64 Posts
Originally Posted by Sportdog